This is the "Home" page of the "CCJ 316: Introduction to Criminal Justice Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CCJ 316: Introduction to Criminal Justice Research   Tags: ccj, course, courses, criminal justice, criminology  

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/CCJ316 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Suggested Databases

Try these databases to find peer-reviewed articles.

  • SocIndex with Full Text  
      
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the field of sociology, including criminology and criminal justice and related topics such as substance abuse and violence.
  • PsycINFO
    Contains scholarly literature in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
 

Peer-Reviewed?

There are several techniques you can use to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed.

1. Google the journal! Make sure to add the word journal to your search if the title doesn't contain it. For example, for the journal Crime & Justice you should Google: Crime & Justice journal. Information about the review process is often found in a section called "About this Journal" or something similar on the journal's website.

2. Use the Journals tab on the Morris Library homepage. Search the title of the journal or browse journals by subject. Many journals will indicate if they are peer-reviewed to the right of the journal name.

For others you may have to click on the red "i" in a circle.

3. Use Ulrich's. Ulrich's provides all sorts of information about journals and other periodicals. Check the field labelled "Refereed" for a "Yes" to indicate the journal is peer-reviewed.

4. Check the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box in any EBSCO database (such as SocIndex) before or after your search to limit your results to articles from peer-reviewed journals only.

Other database providers offer a similar feature.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is great because it contains academic articles and it's very easy to use. Make sure you access it through the library website or add Morris Library to the library access links. That way you can access the library's databases from your search results if the full text of an article isn't available in Google Scholar.

Add Morris Library to your Library Access Links

Step 1: In Google Scholar, click on Settings at the top of the screen.

Step 2: Click Library Links on the left-hand side of the screen.

Step 3: Search Southern Illinois Carbondale in the search box, check the boxes next to the selections below, and hit Save. You're done!

Southern Illinois Univ at Carbondale - EBSCOHost Full Text

Southern Illinois University Carbondale - Find Full Text @ Morris

Open WorldCat - Library Search

 

Suggested Reading

A selection of books about criminal justice and criminology research.

Cover Art
Handbook of Quantitative Criminology - Alexis Russell Piquero; David Weisburd
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780387776507
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Research Methods for Criminal Justice and Criminology - Michael G. Maxfield; Earl R. Babbie
Call Number: 364.072 M463r 1998
ISBN: 0534521649
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Understanding Criminological Research - John Martyn Chamberlain
Call Number: HV6024.5 .C49 2013x
ISBN: 1446208575
Publication Date: 2013

 

Insert a Hanging Indent in a Word Document

APA citation format requires that all lines after the first line of a citation in the reference list are indented half an inch. This is called a hanging indent. Inserting a hanging indent into a Word document is easy!

Step 1: Place your cursor at the beginning of the second line of text in a citation.

Step 2: Right click and choose Paragraph (or open the Paragraph Settings box).

Step 3: In the Paragraph Settings box open the drop-down menu labelled Special in the Indentation section and select Hanging. Click OK.

Step 4: You're done!!! You're citation should look like this:

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip