This is the "Resources" page of the "HIST 407: History of Latinos in the US" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 407: History of Latinos in the US   Tags: hist, hist 407, history, latino and latin american studies  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/HIST407 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
We're Here to Help!
Chat loading...
 

Chat with Your Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Key Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    A general database that indexes popular magazines and scholarly journals. Contains *some* full text articles. Coverage varies.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)  
      
    The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Also Try

  • ArticleFirst  
      
    Identifies articles from publications in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Contains citations for arts & humanities journals, spanning 1975-present.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with links to some full-text items.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Database of articles for non-US history.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
  • IngentaConnect  
      
    Hosts scholarly books and journals in a broad range of subjects. Some full-text is available.
  • MasterFILE Premier  
      
    Contains nearly 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues, etc.
  • Military & Government Collection  
      
    A collection of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets, and other content related to military and government.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)  
      
    A multidisciplinary database providing full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective  
      
    Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Covers the years 1890 through 1982
  • SocIndex with Full Text  
      
    More than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Local Newspapers

The library has microfilm copies of many local, regional, and national newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

You can use I-Share to look up particular newspapers by title; this will tell you which volumes Morris Library has in our collections.

Newspaper microfilms are stored on the 3rd floor, near the 3rd floor Help Desk, and they are alphabetized by the name of the city in which the newspaper was published. The reason that they are kept in this order is because newspapers changed names frequently, but each newspaper usually remained in the same city. An example: the Herrin Spokesman would be shelved under Herrin, IL, because that is the city it was published in.

Don't hesitate to ask at the 3rd floor Help Desk if you need assistance locating newspaper microfilm or using the microfilm machines!

A subsection of the Daily Egyptian student newspaper, containing articles relating to ethnic and racial diversity, has been digitized and made available online:

  • Daily Egyptian Diversity News Archive (student news)
    This online collection contains articles from the Daily Egyptian newspaper that have been identified as relating to SIUC's historic African-American and Latino campus populations. It currently spans the years 1930-1960.
 

What is a Primary Source?

A primary source is firsthand testimony or direct evidence that is usually recorded or created during the time period of the topic under investigation.

This differs from a secondary source, which interprets or analyzes historical events, and can be recorded or created anywhere from days to centuries later.

 Primary Sources

 Secondary Sources

  • diaries, letters, and emails
  • speeches, testimonies, and interviews
  • minutes of meetings
  • some newspaper articles
  • news film or video
  • autobiographies
  • statistics and raw data sets
  • original scientific research
  • legislative hearings and bills
  • photographs and maps
  • poetry, drama, novels, music, and art
  • artifacts such as jewelry, tombstones, furniture, and clothing
  • textbooks
  • encyclopedias
  • literature reviews
  • many magazine articles
  • journal articles that are not primary reports of new research
  • literary criticism
  • reviews of books, plays, and movies
  • a book written in the 20th century about the causes of the French Revolution.

You may find primary sources in a number of different formats and locations:

  • Original materials housed in archives and repositories, including Morris Library's Special Collections Research Center.
  • Reprinted sources published in books or collections. You can search for these within I-Share.
  • Digital copies from library databases or online digital libraries.

Primary Source Databases

Digital Libraries

  • Digital Public Library of America
    Includes digitized collections from US libraries, archives, and museums. Exhibitions rotate frequently, and search results can be mapped or viewed on a timeline or virtual bookshelf.
  • Library of Congress
    Digital collections include the American Memory historical collections, as well as prints & photographs, historical newspapers, film, maps, manuscripts, and much more.
  • Smithsonian Latino Center
    Contains a virtual gallery displaying collections that help to increase awareness of the Latino experience in the United States, and online selections from significant Latino Collections in museums across the country.
  • Voces Oral History Project
    Contains audio, photo, and video documentaries focusing on the oral history and contributions of U.S. Latinos and Latinas of the WWII, Korean War and Vietnam War generations.

SCRC Special Collection Guides

Morris Library's Special Collections Research Center has created guides that will help you locate specific materials within their collections:

Government Documents

Government documents can be excellent primary sources for use in history papers and projects. We have created a guide with detailed information about the many different types of government documents available:

Dissertations and Theses

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip