- Academic Search Complete
A general database that indexes popular magazines and scholarly journals. Contains many full text articles. Coverage varies.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and much more.
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Identifies articles from publications in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Contains citations for arts & humanities journals, spanning 1975-present.
- Google Scholar
Enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with links to some full-text items.
- Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
Hosts scholarly books and journals in a broad range of subjects. Some full-text is available.
- MasterFILE Premier
Contains nearly 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues, etc.
- Military & Government Collection
A collection of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets, and other content related to military and government.
- OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)
A multidisciplinary database providing full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
A primary source is firsthand testimony or direct evidence that is usually recorded or created during the time period of the topic under investigation.
This differs from a secondary source, which interprets or analyzes historical events, and can be recorded or created anywhere from days to centuries later.
- diaries, letters, and emails
- speeches, testimonies, and interviews
- minutes of meetings
- some newspaper articles
- news film or video
- statistics and raw data sets
- original scientific research
- legislative hearings and bills
- photographs and maps
- poetry, drama, novels, music, and art
- artifacts such as jewelry, tombstones, furniture, and clothing
- literature reviews
- many magazine articles
- journal articles that are not primary reports of new research
- literary criticism
- reviews of books, plays, and movies
- a book written in the 20th century about the causes of the French Revolution.
You may find primary sources in a number of different formats and locations:
- Original materials housed in archives and repositories, including Morris Library's Special Collections Research Center.
- Reprinted sources published in books or collections. You can search for these within I-Share.
- Digital copies from library databases or online digital libraries.
Here are a few examples of pre-1500 non-Western primary sources:
Call Number: 915.2 K79EC1932
Here are examples of secondary sources:
Three million records describing primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
- Archives Unbound
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
- CARLI Digital Collections
Digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members.
Look in digital libraries to get ideas of primary source authors and titles you can search for in I-Share:
- Asia For Educators
Columbia University's Weatherhead East Asian Institute has collected historical primary sources on China, Japan, Korea, Vietnam and South-east Asia.
- The Digital Library of Inscriptions and Calligraphies
The Bibliotheca Alexandrina's Calligraphy Center provides digitized inscriptions, calligraphy, and writings of the world from the prehistoric age until now. Includes Ancient Egyptian, Arabic, Persian, Turkish, and Greek.
- World Digital Library
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.8 million theses and dissertations.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The NDLTD Union Catalog includes more than one million electronic theses and dissertations across the globe. Faceted searches are available by language, continent, country, date, format, and source institution. Not all theses and dissertations found here are open-access.