This is the "Home" page of the "National Geographic Archive & County/Regional Atlases Illinois" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

National Geographic Archive & County/Regional Atlases Illinois   Tags: atlases, geography, illinois, resources  

Last Updated: Mar 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/NatGeoArchive Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Databases

Morris Library has two new resources that offer access to maps. These resources are available online and provide searchable access to current and historical cartographic information.

National Geographic Magazine Archive (1888-1994)

This collection includes access not only to every page of every issue of National Geographic magazine but also the books, maps, images, and videos from the first issue in October 1888 through the end of 1994.

National Geographic Archive

Some of the features include:

  • Keyword searchability of the entire archive or within each issue
  • Advanced search options, with ability to limit by content or image type
  • Navigation options include zooming in and out and displaying full-screen
  • Citation information

County and Regional Histories and Atlases Illinois (1852-1921)

This set of documents and images covers fifteen cities and regions in 361 titles. “Originally compiled and produced by publishers and subscriptions agents for area residents and patrons, the original histories are difficult-to-find materials.”

Some of the information included in this set:

  • Vital statistics
  • Military service records
  • Chronologies
  • Land use and settlement patterns
  • Scarce early town and city plans

Jackson County Atlas

The database allows for both simple and advanced searching. Advanced searching includes keyword and Boolean operator searching, fuzzy searching, and limiting by collection or category, years of publication, and language. After results are found, you can search within the results and sort them.

Navigation options include zooming in and out and displaying full-screen. The results screen also includes citation information.

Beth Cox

Profile Image
Beth Cox
Logo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Cataloging, Information Resources Management
Rm 280B, Morris Library
Ph: 618-453-5594
Send Email
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip