Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian
Morris Library Room 260C
Making Art Together
Call Number: N350 .C68 2006 (5th floor)
Publication Date: 2006
Try these links for scholarly articles, books, and more.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Linked full text from hundreds of education journals. Search "Art education" and Refine Results by Subject > art activities or teaching methods for lesson plan ideas.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Art and Architecture academic journals, magazines and trade publications, searchable with full text.
Digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
- Instructional Materials Center (IMC) at Morris Library
Our IMC has picture books, novels, lesson planning ideas, and 3D instructional materials, all available for check out!
- Instructional Materials Center @ Morris Library (3rd Floor)
The IMC houses children's literature, oversize books, curriculum guides, teacher resource books, textbooks, and 3-D materials (toys, games, tools). Check out items for two weeks, and email firstname.lastname@example.org for details.
- Lesson Planning: NAEA
Includes thematic lesson plans, activities, materials, themes and artists from the National Art Education Association.
- National Gallery of Art: Lessons & Activities
Grade-specific, thematic projects and lesson plans organized around National Gallery collections. Meets NAEA standards.
- Getty Museum Database of Lesson Plans
Searchable list of lesson plans can also be browsed by subject, including "When Art Talks," "Historical Witness, Social Messaging", and teaching with sculpture.
- Illinois Art Education Association
Professional development organization that includes a list of resources for teaching as well as information on grants and conferences.
- Everything Art (Smithsonian Museum)
Activities from the Smithsonian, including mask templates, portraits from the National Gallery, and activities based on the works of American artists.
- Incredible Art Lessons (Incredible @rt Department)
Lesson plans for elementary through college.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art-- Lesson Plans
Activities which teach about the history of art, design, and architecture, using the objects housed in the Met.
- Art's Edge (Kennedy Center)
Digital resource for teaching art, including activities and lesson plans, as well as a database of the National Standards for Arts Education.
These images are publicly available or have limited restrictions. Remember that public domain is always "to the best of our knowledge" and use images according to the restrictions described by each hosting site.
- Art Images for College Teaching
A set of public domain. images created by Minneapolis College of Art & Design students and staff.
- Art Resource
More than 400,000 searchable fine art images, three million transparencies, and black and white photographs of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts. All images are subject to the copyright terms of the owners (often museums and galleries in this case).
- Digital Fine Art and Photography Digital Collections
A list of potentially free or less restricted image collections (although not always maintained or non-commercial).
- Getty Search Gateway: Open Content Images
Made available in Fall 2013, Getty Images provides the collection of more than 10,000 images from various collections. Collection was created to aid in the teaching of art art history.
- Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
More than 1.2 million digitized images from the Library of Congress, many in the public domain.
- National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 29,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
- Rijksmuseum (Digital Collection)
A Dutch national museum of art and art history, which has made 125,000 high-resolution images of art in its collection available for download and reuse via its Rijks Studio software. Create an account to use and download.
- Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum containing over 22,000 images, focusing on European painting and sculpture. Search by artist name, or the generalized search engine.
- Wikimedia Commons
Many images are Creative Commons licensed (you must attribute but can freely use, edit, publish), public domain, or copyrighted with few restrictions.