This is the "Resources @ Morris Library" page of the "AFR 215: The Black American Experience in a Pluralistic Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AFR 215: The Black American Experience in a Pluralistic Society   Tags: afr, africana studies  

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/afr215 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources @ Morris Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Try These Books

Try these books found using the Library of Congress' subject headings: (African Americans AND black middle class), (Social Conditions AND black middle class), (History AND black middle class).

Cover Art
The Cosby Cohort - Cherise A. Harris
Call Number: E185.86 .H357 2013
ISBN: 9781442217652
Publication Date: 2013-02-14

Cover Art
Beyond the Black Lady - Lisa B. Thompson
Call Number: E185.86 .T447 2009
ISBN: 9780252034268
Publication Date: 2009-07-08

Cover Art
Struggle for Black Equality - Harvard Sitkoff; John Hope Franklin (Foreword by)
Call Number: Available through I-Share
ISBN: 9780809089246
Publication Date: 2008-09-30

Key Databases

Try these databases first for scholarly articles, primary sources, and more.

  • Black Studies Center  
      
    Black Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching including: essays, video and images from Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), Historical Black Newspapers, History Makers oral histories, Black Abolitionist Papers, Black Literature Index, and dissertations in Black Studies.
  • SocIndex with Full Text  
      
    SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database
  • JSTOR  
      
    A multidisciplinary database of full text non-current scholarly journals.

Historically Black Newspapers

Try these collections of historically black newspapers for historical and cultural context.

  • Chicago Defender (1910-1975)  
      
    The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
  • Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)  
      
    This is a full-text searchable database of Chicago Tribune's historical backfiles. It includes digital reproductions of newspaper pages, including images.
  • Chicago Tribune (1989-present)  
      
    Provides reporting and analysis of regional, national, and international news. Coverage is 1989-current.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  
      
    Includes Call & Post (Cleveland, 1992-present), Bay State Banner (Boston, 1965-1979), Hyde Park Citizen (1991-present), Indianapolis Recorder (1991-present), Michigan Chronicle (Detroit, 2006-present), Michigan Citizen (1990-present), New York Amsterdam News (1993-present), Oakland Post (1991-present), Philadelphia Tribune(1991-present), Sacramento Observer (1968-1975, 1991-present), Los Angeles Sentinel (1991-present).
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1988-present)
    Full text of this daily is available from 1988-present in ProQuest Newsstand.
 

Suggested Searches in OneSearch

OneSearch

Try entering these search terms in the search fields in OneSearch

Black middle class AND:

Education

Social mobility

Fragility

Courtship and marriage

Dating and mating

Debt and savings

Diversity and strategic assimilation

Black Identity

Race in public spaces

Cultural advancement/participation in the arts

Biracials

Social Construction of race

Consumers

Housing

Employment

 

Google Scholar




Google Scholar and Morris Library

1.  To Access Morris Library sources, click on Scholar Preferences.
2.  In Library Links, type in Southern Illinois University Carbonale.
3.  Select the box next to Find Full Text at Morris.
4.  When you find a resource in Google Scholar, don't try to access it with the title!!!!  Click on the Find Full Text @ Morris link.
 

Create an I-Share Account

Create an I-Share account to order books from libraries across Illinois, and pick them up in 3-7 days at the Morris Library Circulation Desk. Follow the link below to sign up for your I-Share account:

Create an I-Share Account 

Desired Username = siu85xxxxxxx

Password Suggestion = lastname

Borrower ID (Barcode Number) = siu85xxxxxxx

I-Share Library = Southern Illinois University Carbondale

 

MLA Citation Handout

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip