This is a guide for students taking ANS 500: Research Methods
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan. Create your I-Share and Interlibrary Loan user accounts by clicking on the My Library Accounts tab on the library's homepage.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL. Use your Interlibrary loan account to request books from WorldCat.
Use these resources to determine if a journal contains primarily peer-reviewed articles. Remember that editorials and news items are not peer-reviewed. Most conference papers are not peer-reviewed.
Use the peer-reviewed limit if available in a database. Note that most articles and reviews in Web of Science are from peer-reviewed journals. PubMed/Medline primarily indexes peer-reviewed articles, but does include some consumer health materials.
You may also want to see the Animal Science and the Human Nutrition guides.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to food and agriculture. Coverage: 1970-present. Created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- Annual Reviews
"Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 32 scientific disciplines. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)."
- Biological Abstracts
Essential resource for all life sciences researchers. Full citations contain information about methods used, including statistical analysis.
- CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
Food, nutrition, agriculture, and life sciences from an international perspective.
- Cochrane Library
Search for articles in more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals. The world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine and systematic reviews.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Search the scholarly literature in education, including nutrition education and information about the school lunch program. Includes both journal article citations and full-text non-journal gray literature documents (working papers, consulting reports, lesson plans, etc.) Use the Source Type or Publication Type limits to limit to article citations.
General database, keyword searchable, mostly freely available citations. May also search for "Cited by" resources.
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 19 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including psychiatry.
OpenSIUC is an institutional repository offering permanent, reliable,and free access to research and scholarly material produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in psychology, health promotion, and related subjects. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records, including citations for over 2000 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
General medical database that includes citations to human and animal nutrition journals as well as health care policy. "Nutrition Policy" is a standard subject heading (MeSH term) in this database. You may search the Dietary Supplement subset
separately if you prefer.
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below. Learn about using SciFinder here.
Covers sociology and related disciplines.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and their effects on animals and humans from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Dates of coverage vary.
- Web of Science
Covers many disciplines in depth. Uses keyword searching. It includes citation searching and analysis, Journal Citation Reports, and a bibliographic management tool (EndNote Web). Use the All Database search to include Biological Abstracts and MEDLINE.
Search books, journals, government documents, etc. Create your user account here to request books from other I-Share Libraries.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology