This is the "Home" page of the "ANTH 300, Writing Anthropological Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANTH 300, Writing Anthropological Research   Tags: anth, anthropology  

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/anth300 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Phil Howze
 

Where are Morris Library's Anthropology Books?

Browsing the shelves is a great technique to find anthropology books. Most of Morris Library's newer anthropology books are on the fifth floor, but they are in different sections depending on the subfield. Biological and sociocultural anthropology books have call numbers that start with GN. Archaeology books generally start with CC. Linguistic anthropology books have call numbers that begin with P. Books about primates have call numbers that start with QL737.

How to Read a Scientific Paper

Find Articles

  • AnthroSource  
      
    Full coverage of all 33 of the American Anthropological Association's publications. (Does not include the most recent 10 years of Anthropology News.)
  • eHRAF World Cultures  
      
    eHRAF World Cultures contains over 600,000 pages of ethnographic information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The ever-expanding eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  
      
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language, including linguistic anthropology.
  • Zoological Record (1945-present) - Web of Science  
      
    The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology with coverage from 1945 to present.
  • MEDLINE  
      
    Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, from 1946 to the present with some older materials.
  • Google Scholar
    Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles in every discipline.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    "Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications."
  • JSTOR  
      
    A database of full text non-current scholarly journals. Includes articles from about 1600 anthropology journals and more from related fields such as folklore, language, and biology.
 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

 

Using the Internet for College Research

The Internet is an amazing source of information, but sometimes it's hard to determine if what you find is reliable. There are 2 things you can do to improve your chances of locating reliable and authoritative information on the Internet

1. Use Google Scholar!

Google Scholar is great because it contains academic articles and it's very easy to use. Just make sure you access it through the library website or add Morris Library to the library access links so you can access the library's databases from your search results.

Add Morris Library to your Library Access Links

Step 1: In Google Scholar, click on Settings at the top of the screen.

Step 2: Click Library Links on the left-hand side of the screen.

Step 3: Search Southern Illinois Carbondale in the search box, check the boxes next to the selections below, and hit Save. You're done!

Southern Illinois Univ at Carbondale - EBSCOHost Full Text

Southern Illinois University Carbondale - Find Full Text @ Morris

Open WorldCat - Library Search

 

2. Pay attention to the domain.

All web addresses end with a domain such as .com or .edu. Sites that end in certain domains are generally considered more reputable, but use common sense. If a web address ends in one of the domains listed below but the content is outdated or the site makes wild claims with no supporting evidence, the site most likely isn't reliable. Below are some domains and what they stand for that are usually reliable:

.edu    Educational institution
.gov Government Entity
.org Non-profit Organizaton
 

Evaluating Websites

Know your APC’s: Authority, Purpose, and Currency

Almost any kind of document can be found on the Web. Web sites can be official government documents, opinionated blogs, specialized academic research, advertisements, newspapers, parodies, and political lobbying sites, to name just a few. It is important to realize that not all information on the Web has the same degree of reliability. When evaluating Web sites, it is important to know your APC’s:

Authority

  • Who is the author?
  • What are the author’s credentials?
  • Is the author affiliated with a larger institution?
  • Is the contact information provided to either mail or email the creator for further information?

Knowing who the author is can establish how much expertise the author has on the topic and what biases the author might have. Information on authority often can be found in the “About” or “Contact” section of a Web site.

Purpose

  • Why was this site created?
  • For whom is this site intended?
  • Is the author trying to sell a product or service?
  • Is the author affiliated with an organization interested in promoting its own ideas?
  • Does the site link to other authoritative sites on the same topic?

Sometimes a site will indicate its point of view in the “About” section. Other times, a site will have bias or errors that are harder to spot. Considering the tone of the site, comparing the site to information in other sources, and considering what sort of site it is are some ways to check.

Currency

  • When was the site created?
  • When was the last time the site was updated?
  • Are the links to other sites still active?

Tip: Dead links are a sign that the Web site is not updated regularly. This should lead you to question the currency of the other information on the site.

For many topics, old information can be out-of-date and no longer accurate. Information about currency is often found by scrolling to the bottom of the home page. It may contain a date created, date last updated, or a copyright date.

 

Background Information

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline, combining anthropological theory and ethnography.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Contains over 900 extensive entries on important concepts, people, places, theories, and more in all 4 sub-fields of anthropology and applied anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology
An 11-volume encyclopedia with entries covering "all time periods and regions of the world and all stages of human development."

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
"Provides readers with authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts."

News

Morris Library has an extensive collection of newspapers on microfilm. The collection is especially strong for local newspapers. Microfilms are found on the third floor and are shelved by city. So, if you're looking for past issues of the Southern Illinoisian, look for the cabinets marked Carbondale.

The databases below contain articles from past and present issues of national and international newspapers, but don't contain local papers.

  • ProQuest Newsstream  
      
    Includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Contains national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.

Government Information

Use the I-Share catalog or one of the databases below to search for government publications. The I-Share catalog contains information about print and electronic government documents.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip