Carbondale & Jackson County
Local NewsPresidential Constitution LawsElectoral CollegeLibrary and Campus Events
General Tutorials
CareerConstitutionCopyrightEarthquakeGenealogyKatrinaPaul SimonPresidential ElectionSustainabilityWaterAmerican IndianAnthropologyData/Statistics
Get StartedSearching Digital DocumentsSearching Science GovDocsSearch by Documents TypesCatalogs, Indexes, PortalsOnline Resources List
CatalogsIndexes, Web Portals, Encyclopedias, Guides...BiographyCongressHistorical StatisticsPresidentsPublic OpinionSupreme CourtDocuments Asked by Users
This is the "Anthropology" page of the "Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library   Tags: government documents, resources  

This guide serves as a point of access to government information for the constituents of Southern Illinois University of Carbondale and the citizens of Illinois' 12th Congressional District.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Anthropology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ready Reference

Smithsonian Institution Publications

The Smithsonian provides some of the best resources for ethnographers. The (now defunct) Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE) was part of the Smithsonian and provides many monographs and bulletins related to anthropology. Some of the monographs will be in the library’s catalog, and many are included in anthropology- or Native American Studies-related databases. There is also an index volume for BAE reports.

Bureau of American Ethnology Publications

Call numbers: SI 2.1: (Annual Reports); SI 2.3 (Bulletins), Government Documents, 3rd Floor

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology : with Index to Authors and Titles.

SCRC, 1st floor. Non circulating. OCL4514 for 1910 version, OCL5366 for 1915 version, Special Collections (non-circulating), 1st Floor;

Bureau of Ethnology Bulletin 200. (End of Series) A great index for all BAE publications.

This is a complete listing of Bureau of American Ethnology publications from 1877 to 1971. It includes Annual reports, Bulletins, Contributions to North American Ethnology, Publications of the Institute of Social Anthropology, and miscellaneous publications. Material included in this bibliography available in Government Information.

 Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology

Call number: online full text document. Access through IShare@Morris.

A monographic series published irregularly. It continues Bulletin (Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology)

Handbook of North American Indians

Call number: SI 1.20/2: Government Documents, 3rd Floor
"A 20-volume set planned to give an encyclopedic summary of what is known about the prehistory, history, and cultures of the aboriginal peoples of North America who lived north of the urban civilizations of central Mexico." 

Serial Set, American State Papers, and Other Congressional Publications

The Serial Set was one of the earliest means of distributing federal government information to citizens. The Serial Set includes Congressional documents (bills, reports, special investigations) and many 19th and early 20th century executive documents (special and annual reports) that were ordered by Congress to be printed.

 Library of Congress

 American Memory Collection

URL: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/

The Library of Congress is building an extensive digital library collection. The American Memory collection includes a wide variety of materials: photographs, correspondence, manuscripts, sound recordings, motion pictures, etc. Folklife materials are included in this digital collection.

 National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) 

NARA Archival Research Catalog
The online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. You can perform a keyword, digitized image and location search. ARC's advanced functionalities also allow you to search by organization, person, or topic.

Census Bureau Materials

Typically, the U.S. Decennial Census is a good way to get a statistical overview of an area; however, the Census Bureau also collects statistics at other times and on other subjects than demography.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-present) and Historical Statistics of the United States

URL: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/past_years.html

“The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.” The Statistical Abstract is one of the best places to start your search for statistics.

 Indian Affairs Materials

Click the title to access the government documents research guide on American Indiana.

 General Land Office Records & Maps

The Bureau of Land Management has created a Federal Land Patents Database that allows you to search for General Land Office grants issued between 1820 and 1908. You can perform a basic search, where you can search by state and patentee name, or a standard search, where you can search by patentee name, by a particular location (described by county, section, township, range, etc.), or by date and land office.

 

Search Engines

  • Google Scholar
    Locate online full text of government documents.
  • Google
    - Use advanced search
    - Use site:.gov, .edu, .mil, etc. to narrow down the search.
    - Brainstorm search, background search, or locate online full text of government
    documents.
    - Evaluate!

Government web portals

Online Catalogs

 

Indexes in Collection

 

Paper Catalogs and Indexes

There are several print indexes that warrant checking because they cover items that may not be cataloged anywhere else – library online catalogs, databases, Internet - yet.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications and Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)

Call number: GP 3.8:/8 (1895-) ; Government Documents Reference, 3rd Floor

URL: http://catalog.gpo.gov (1976-present)
The Monthly Catalog/CGP was the main index to the publications of the U.S. Government and a good indicator of what materials were sent to depository libraries. This series lists the call number necessary to find the publications on the shelves.


Cumulative Title Index to United States public documents, 1789-1976
Call number: Q. 353.016 C971; Government Documents Reference, 3rd Floor

This index provides the call numbers for historical publications.

A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5, 1774-March 4, 1881 (Poore’s Index)

Call number: Q. 015.73 P832D; Dewey Books Collection, Basement

Structured chronologically, and includes an index.

Associate Professor, Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Jian Anna Xiong
Contact Info
Morris Library (Mail Code 6632)
Carbondale, IL 62901

(618) 453-7108
axiong at lib.siu.edu
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip