- CLARA: Database of Women Artists
From the National Museum of Women in the Arts, this database provides basic biographic information for a number of women artists.
- Decorative Arts and Design in the Victorian Era (The Victorian Web)
A free online index of everything Victorian, including biographic information and images.
- Digital Public Library of America
Search for digital resources from libraries, archives, and museums across the country.
- Electronic Arts Intermix:
Collection of 3,500 new and historical media works by artists, including biographic information and bibliographies.
- Feminist Art Archive (University of Washington)
A project from a UW graduate class, provide biographies for global, contemporary women artists, including bibliographies.
- Fertile Crescent Project: Artists
A project from Rutgers, providing biographies of artists from the Middle East and the Middle East Diaspora.
- National Museum of Women in the Arts: Artist Profiles
Taking over for CLARA in 2012, the NMWA provides biographic information for over 1,000 nationally and internationally known women artists.
- Research Resources from Art+Feminism
Resources from the national organization sponsoring this event.
- Women's History Sourcebook
An index of web sources on women's history.
Art-specific resources from Morris Library (note: these links will require SIU login).
These images are publicly available or have limited restrictions. Remember that public domain is always "to the best of our knowledge" and use images according to the restrictions described by each hosting site.
- Wikimedia Commons
Many images are Creative Commons licensed (you must attribute but can freely use, edit, publish), public domain, or copyrighted with few restrictions.
- Art Images for College Teaching
A set of public domain images curated by Minneapolis College of Art & Design students and staff.
- Getty Search Gateway: Open Content Images
Made available in Fall 2013, Getty Images provides the collection of more than 10,000 images from various collections. Collection was created to aid in the teaching of art art history.
- Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
More than 1.2 million digitized images from the Library of Congress, many in the public domain.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art's Digital Collection
Search the collection for images that say "Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)". These images of items in the Met's collection are available for free download and use.
- National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 29,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
- Rijksmuseum (Digital Collection)
A Dutch national museum of art and art history, which has made 125,000 high-resolution images of art in its collection available for download and reuse via its Rijks Studio software. Create an account to use and download.
Try these websites to locate primary sources. Keep mind: most archives cannot afford to digitize their collections, so some will have lists called finding aids that describe what is in their physical archive.