This is the "Research Guide" page of the "Art Education Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art Education Research Guide   Tags: ad, art, art & design, education  

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/arteducation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

@ Morris Library

Cover Art
Serious Comix - Eydie Wilson
Call Number: 5th Floor: LB1044.9.C59 W55 2013
ISBN: 9781564843210
Publication Date: 2013-03-15

Cover Art
How Children Make Art - George Szekely
Call Number: 5th Floor: LB1139.5.A78 S94 2006
ISBN: 9780807747193
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Cover Art
Connecting Comics to Curriculum - Karen W. Gavigan; Mindy Tomasevich
Call Number: 5th floor: LB1044.9.C59 G38 2011
ISBN: 9781598847680
Publication Date: 2011-10-01

Cover Art
Multicultural Studio Art Projects for Secondary Students, Grades 9-12 - Susan Hogan
Call Number: Basment: 375.7 H714M1997
ISBN: 0132874423
Publication Date: 1997-08-01

Cover Art
Artists Emerging - Sheila Paine
Call Number: Basement (Dewey Books): 704.054 P147a 2000
ISBN: 0754602001
Publication Date: 2000-10-01

Cover Art
Teaching Visual Culture - Kerry Freedman
Call Number: 5th Floor: N84 .F74 2003
ISBN: 0807743712
Publication Date: 2003-07-01

Key Resources

Try these links for scholarly articles, books, and more.

 

Search for Books in I-Share

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

Suggested Searches in I-Share:

Art Study and teaching. (All I-Share Libraries)

Art Study and teaching. Activity programs.

Art Study and teaching. Fine Arts.

Art. Education. (SIUC Only, Books only, Newest First)

 

Lesson Planning Resources

Get Citation Help

Citing Images

For APA, 6th edition:

Artist's name. (Date of creation). The work of art [original medium]. Retrieved from [name of database OR website URL].

Library Database or Website:
Rousseau, H. (1896). The ship in the storm [Painting]. Retrieved from Oxford Art Online database.

Print Source:
Rousseau, H. (1896). The ship in the storm [Painting]. Henri Rousseau: Jungles in Paris. By Claire Fresches et al. Washington, DC: National Gallery of Art. 232.
 
For 5th edition APA, include date of retrieval after "Retrieved from..."

Public Domain Images

These images are publicly available or have limited restrictions. Remember that public domain is always "to the best of our knowledge" and use images according to the restrictions described by each hosting site.

  • Art Images for College Teaching
    A set of public domain. images created by Minneapolis College of Art & Design students and staff.
  • Art Resource
    More than 400,000 searchable fine art images, three million transparencies, and black and white photographs of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts. All images are subject to the copyright terms of the owners (often museums and galleries in this case).
  • Digital Fine Art and Photography Digital Collections
    A list of potentially free or less restricted image collections (although not always maintained or non-commercial).
  • Getty Search Gateway: Open Content Images
    Made available in Fall 2013, Getty Images provides the collection of more than 10,000 images from various collections. Collection was created to aid in the teaching of art art history.
  • Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
    More than 1.2 million digitized images from the Library of Congress, many in the public domain.
  • National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
    NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 29,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
  • Rijksmuseum (Digital Collection)
    A Dutch national museum of art and art history, which has made 125,000 high-resolution images of art in its collection available for download and reuse via its Rijks Studio software. Create an account to use and download.
  • Web Gallery of Art
    The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum containing over 22,000 images, focusing on European painting and sculpture. Search by artist name, or the generalized search engine.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Many images are Creative Commons licensed (you must attribute but can freely use, edit, publish), public domain, or copyrighted with few restrictions.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip