A research guide for students of aviation management.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- Airline Data Project (MIT Global Airline Industry Program)
Provides analysis of several commercial airlines. From the site: "The ADP was developed using the most reliable sources available: U.S. Department of Transportation Form 41 (U.S. DOT Form 41) from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, and relevant filings to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Consistent with airline industry practice, U.S. DOT Form 41 data is used to analyze aircraft and employee productivity, operational performance and other significant operational statistics. The SEC filings are the primary source of financial statistics."
- Airport Cooperative Research Program
From the website: "The Airport Cooperative Research Program (ACRP) is an industry-driven, applied research program that develops near-term, practical solutions to problems faced by airport operators. ACRP is managed by the Transportation Research Board (TRB) of the National Academies and sponsored by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). The research is conducted by contractors who are selected on the basis of competitive proposals."
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that includes citations and some full text content about the aviation industry, operations research and management, etc.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO)
This index contains citations for some industry trade journals. It has *some* full text. Terms used by this database that you may wish to try include aircraft industry workers, airline industry, aircraft industry, labor, unions, etc.
Use this term, Air Transportation, in combination with other topics, for example, Air Transportation and Labor.
- LexisNexis Academic
Covers aviation trade journals. Use the tabs above the search box to the left to search for business and legal information. Company information can be accessed via the "Business" tab. Customized company lists can also be created.
"NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more."
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
- TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database (Transportation Research Board of the National Academies)
Contains records for articles, books, reports, and conference papers about aviation and other transportation industries. Use I-Share@Morris Library (limit to SIUC) to see if SIUC has access to full text or print, and use our interlibrary loan services if the item is not available at SIUC. For help, contact Mary Taylor
(618-453-5492) or the Information Desk at Morris Library (618-453-2818).
- U.S. National Transportation Library Digital Repository
Contains full text of government and non-government reports, conference papers, etc.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)