A guide to research in Black American Studies.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2013
- Black Studies Center
The Search All database is comprised of Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, historical black newspapers, current scholarly journals from International Index to Black Periodicals and The Marshall Index, and citations from the Black Literature Index.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- African American Poetry
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry.
- Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
This is a full-text searchable database of Chicago Tribune issues from 1849 to 1986. It includes digital reproductions of newspaper pages, including images.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Via Newsbank, searchable full-text of the newspaper from 1985 to present.
- OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)
This multidisciplinary database provides full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
- Project Muse
Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers can be used to simultaneously search three different digitized newspapers: The Chicago Tribune, The Chicago Defender, and The New York Times
Citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It contains more than 2 million records from 1806 to the present.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
This resource is available only from the CD-ROM computer in Morris Library. Please contact the Information Desk staff for help locating and using this resource.
Comprehensive coverage of sociology from 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text for 547 books and monographs, 6,711 conference papers.
- World of Poetry
250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations. Scholars have reviewed and guided the selection of poems, so that the poetry contained here is also the poetry encountered in the classroom.
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in I-Share to see if Morris Library owns a copy. If not, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.