This is the "Home" page of the "CDS 510: Stuttering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CDS 510: Stuttering   Tags: cds, communication disorders, communication sciences  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/cds510 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dissertations, Theses, and Research Papers

  • Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale  
      
    Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library. Search SIUCat for “Theses-SIUC-Rehabilitation.”

    For research papers search SIUCat for “Research papers-SIUC-Rehabilitation.” Research papers are in a special collection and can be viewed by calling ahead (618-453-2516).
  • Dissertations and Theses Abstracts  
      
    Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.

Finding Journal Articles

  • Medline (EBSCO)  
      
    Search for articles in over 4,800 journals from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.
  • ERIC (EBSCO)  
      
    Search the scholarly literature in education. The Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) contains article citations for over 1,000 journals.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
    Search for articles in over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health from 1937. Uses EBSCO.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  
      
    Search for articles in over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Uses EBSCO.
  • PubMed  
      
    Search for articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences. Free government web site. Access it through Morris Library’s Website to get links to full-text articles.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Search the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Spanning 1806 to the present, coverage is of approximately 2,000 periodicals. Uses EBSCO.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Search for articles in the sciences and social sciences with tools to analyze and manage your research information, including citation analysis, journal impact factor and personal bibliographic management.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  
      
    Search the scholarly literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage of over 1,500 journals and all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
 

Can't Find the Article?

If you don't see the article as a full-text or PDF in the database you are searching, you have two options:

  1. Follow the  Find Full Text Button link to see if it is available in another database or in print in the library OR
     
  2. Search for the title of the article (not the title of the journal) in Google Scholar and then follow the Find Full Text button link.

Other Resources

  • eJournal Finder
    Allows you to find the electronic version of journals by title and then search current and previous volumes.
  • American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Journals
    Directly access the full-text of the American Journal of Audiology, Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, and Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments  
      
    Provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health and psychosocial sciences. Uses EBSCO.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print  
      
    Covers more than 2,200 tests in categories such as personality, behavioral assessment, neuropsychology, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, education, speech and hearing, and sensory motor skills. Uses OVID.
 

Tips for Searching PubMed

You MUST access PubMed through the Morris Library website if you want the links to the full-text articles.

Search using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) for the best results:

  1. Click the drop down box on the left of the screen and select MeSH.
  2. Enter your first keyword in the search box and click GO.
  3. Select the box for the subject heading that best matches your topic.
  4. Click the drop down box on the right of the screen which reads “Send to.”
  5. Select send to “search box with AND” or “search box with OR” or “search box with NOT.”
  6. Repeat steps for your next keyword.
  7. Click on “Search PubMed”.

Note: the newest citations may not yet have subject headings. You may wish to combine a subject heading search with a key word search if you are not getting many relevant articles.

If you find a good reference, look at the MeSH terms for it by clicking on the title and going to the full record.

To see how a search was run or to change it, click on the “Details” tab below the search box.

To combine searches, click on the “Preview/Index” or “History” tabs.

To find similar articles, click on the “Related Articles” link next to the citation.

For additional help go to: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/help/pmhelp.html

Librarian

 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip