- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- ACS (American Chemical Society)
The American Chemical Society (ACS) publishes many major chemistry journals. ACS can be used to search the full text of these journals or to browse them.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Knowledge)
Biological Abstracts indexes over 4,200 journals in the life sciences including biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pharmacology, and zoology.
- Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar Web version)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below in the Also Try section of this page.
"ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services" (description from Web site) ChemSpider aggregates chemical structures and related information from multiple free and commercial databases including supplier catalogs, government databases, and Wikipedia.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
Entrez is the entry point for many NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases, including databases of genome and protein sequences as well as indexes of journal articles and full text books.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that searches across disciplines for materials, including published articles, unpublished preprints, theses, books, preprints, and technical reports.
- Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biochemistry.
- NIST Chemistry Webbook
Database of thermodynamic properties and spectra (excluding NMR). According to the site notes,” This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program."
PapersFirst indexes papers published in conference proceedings in many different subject areas.
A free service from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biochemistry.
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below.
- SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)
First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
- Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
In addition to being a catalog, it provides a place to quickly look up property information spectra (1H NMR, IR, Raman) for some products.
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
Search for IR, MS, NMR, and Raman spectra by peak or by compound. A free database maintained by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology.
TOXNET is a group of databases about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, etc., from the US National Library of Medicine.
- Web of Knowledge
On Web of Knowledge, Morris Library has Web of Science, a multidisciplinary citation index, as well as Medline, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record and Inspec. If you want to use just one of these databases, click on the "Select Database" tab. It also includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.
- Web of Science (Citation Indexes)
Multidisciplinary database that makes connections between publications, the works that they cite, and the works that cite them.