A guide to research in Cinema and Photography.
Last Updated: Oct 11, 2012
- Communications & Mass Media Complete
"Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index is an indexing and abstracting database for publications in the areas of film and television. It is intended for use by both film scholars and the general public, so its indexing includes academic journals such as Journal of Film & Video as well as magazines such as Variety. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books.
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
"EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
- Filmakers Library Online
filmmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 973 title
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
"Journal article citations and article references."
"ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes."- from publisher. Downloading images requires you to create a free personal account while logged in on campus.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
"This database includes more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
- Electronic Collections Online
"This database contains the full text of selected journals (journals that Morris Library subscribes to). You can also view the abstracts of articles of other journals."
- First Search
"Several subjects, searchable one-by-one or in combination, some full-text."
- Google Scholar
"Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research."
"IngentaConnect is a website that hosts scholarly books and journals from a range of different publishers.
"A database of full text non-current scholarly journals."
- LexisNexis Academic Search
"LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed.
- MLA International Bibiography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations.
A database of electronic books.
- New York Times (1851-2006)
This database includes full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times starting with the first issue of the publication. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue published between 1851-2006 in PDF format.
- OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)
OmnFile Full Text Select is a multidisciplinary database providing full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
- Project Muse
Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in I-Share to see if Morris Library owns a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.