This is the "Home" page of the "Classics Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Classics Research Guide   Tags: art, clas, classics, language, literature  

Last Updated: Jun 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/classics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Your Librarian

Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian

Contact Info
sprindle@lib.siu.edu

618/453-1249
Morris Library Room 260C

Key Databases

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Includes Classics, Literature, Humanities, Art, Philosophy, History, and Multidisciplinary journals.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A database of full text non-current scholarly journals. Go to "Advanced Search" to search by Classical Studies journals, as well as Anthropology, Philosophy, Art History, and more under "Narrow by discipline and/or publication title".
  • Oxford Scholarship Online - Classical Studies  
      
    Access online books (ebooks) including Oxford Classical Monographs, Oxford Studies in Ancient Documents, Classical Presences, Classical Culture and Society, and American Philological Association Monograph Series.
  • Perseus Digital Library
    Browse the Perseus Digital Library Collection or search the PerseusCatalog for primary and secondary works of searchable Greek and Latin literary texts, reference works, images, and other resources, often from older materials in the public domains.
  • Loeb Classical Library  
      
    Provides more than 520 full searchable volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts from 800BCE to 1000AD. Browse by author, origin, or Loeb volumes.

Historical Digital Collections

Online collections of digitized primary sources or historical content.

  • Perseus Digital Library
    Browse the Perseus Digital Library Collection or search the PerseusCatalog for primary and secondary works of searchable Greek and Latin literary texts, reference works, images, and other resources, often from older materials in the public domains.
  • PHI (Packard Humanities Initiative)
    An extensive full-text database of Latin Literature.

Classical Art

Images collections and scholarship.

  • Art & Architecture Complete  
      
    Art & Architecture Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 240 periodicals and 140 books, as well as selective coverage for over 50 publications.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Includes Classics, Literature, Humanities, Art, Philosophy, History, and Multidisciplinary journals.
  • ARTstor  
      
    ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes
  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.

Philosophy

Resources for Classical Philosophy.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Includes Classics, Literature, Humanities, Art, Philosophy, History, and Multidisciplinary journals.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Uses the EBSCO interface.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A database of full text non-current scholarly journals
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Project Muse  
      
    Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.

Literature and Language

Language and Literature Scholarly Resources.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Includes Classics, Literature, Humanities, Art, Philosophy, History, and Multidisciplinary journals.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A database of full text non-current scholarly journals
  • Literature Online (LION)  
      
    Over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century. Also includes an extensive collection of criticism and reference materials.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Uses the EBSCO interface.
  • Thesaurus Linguae Latinae  
      
    The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed scholarship from EBSCO.
 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip