Formerly Speech Communications.
Suggested databases for scholarly sources.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
A multidisciplinary database of full text non-current scholarly journals
- Google Scholar
Click here to connect to Morris Library's online resources via Google Scholar (login with Network ID/password).
For company info, trade publications and materials, PR newswires, newspapers, magazines, and more.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 10,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online is an Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. For company and industry information and financial filings.
- LexisNexis Academic Search - Legacy Interface (after 10/5/2017 see Nexis Uni)
Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly, popular, and trade journals.
- Reference USA
Find contact information for companies based on region and basic financial data.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 documentary and narrative films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features.
For information on marketing, journalism, and broadcasting.
- Columbia Journalism Review: Who Owns What
CJR's guide to what the major media companies own. Select a media corporation to see a list of their subsidiaries by state and city.
- Media Planning & Buying Calculators (SRDS)
Plan media buying by Cost Per Thousand (CPM), Cost Per Rating Point (CPP), Ratings, Shares, HUTs and PUTs, and more.
- btob Special Report: Media Power 50 (2013)
btob, a part of Advertising Age, publishes an annual list of the top 50 media outlets with info on: Circulation, Traffic, Ad revenue (print), Ad revenue (online), Ad rate (print), and Ad rate (online). In the OmniFile Full Text Select Database (EBSCO).
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
Dissertations and theses will often need to request via Interlibrary Loan.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library.
OpenSIUC is an institutional repository offering permanent, reliable,and free access to research and scholarly material produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.