Cataloging: Withdrawal Procedures

The Database Maintenance Unit of the Cataloging Department is responsible for complete processing of materials being withdrawn from the collection.

1. Overview: When an item is routed to the Cataloging Department to be withdrawn, it is necessary to:
   update the bibliographic, holdings, and item records in Voyager; update OCLC, if appropriate, stamp the piece “Discard;”
   dispose of the item; and enter statistics.

Procedures

1.  
   1. Retrieve the bibliographic record.
   2. Verify that the record matches the item.
   3. Check for other holdings associated with the bibliographic record to see if the Library owns other copies.
   4. If, after a thorough search, no bib record is found in Voyager, stamp the piece “Discard,” and include this item in the withdrawal statistics.
   5. Monograph (last or only copy):
      1. Suppress bibliographic record.
      2. Suppress MFHD.
      3. Change location code to wdn.
      4. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
         
         Example: 852 1_ $b wdn $ 823.91 $i K626p $x Withdrawn,  5/3/04                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
         
      5. Set Item Status to Withdrawn.
      6. Cancel holdings in OCLC.
      7. Stamp piece “Discard.”
   6. Monograph (not last copy):
      1. Suppress MFHD.
      2. Change location code to wdn.
      3. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
      4. Set Item status to Withdrawn.
      5. Do NOT cancel holdings in OCLC.
      6. Stamp piece “Discard.”
   7. Monographic set (all vols):
      1. Suppress bibliographic record.
      2. Suppress MFHD.
      3. Change location code to wdn.
      4. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
      5. Set Item statuses to Withdrawn.
      6. Cancel holdings in OCLC.
      7. Stamp pieces “Discard.”
   8. Monographic set (some vols.):
      1. Add subfield $x [Vols.] Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
         
         Example: 852 0_ $b lcx $h PS3560.A44 $i P3 2001 $x Vol. 1-2 withdrawn, 5/3/04                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
         
      2. Edit the 866 field to exclude the withdrawn volumes or delete the 863 fields for the appropriate volumes.
      3. Set Item Status for discarded volumes to Withdrawn.
      4. Stamp pieces “Discard.”
   9. Serial ( entire run, last or only copy ):
      1. Suppress bibliographic record.
      2. Suppress MFHD.
      3. Change location code to wdn
      4. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
      5. Set the 008 Receipt Status to “Not currently received.”
      6. Delete Item Records.
      7. Stamp pieces “Discard.”
      8. Cancel holdings in OCLC.
   10. Serial (entire run, not last copy):  
       1. Suppress MFHD.
       2. Change location code to wdn
       3. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
       4. Set the 008 Receipt Status to “Not currently received.”
       5. Delete Item Records.
       6. Stamp pieces “Discard.”
   11. Serial (partial run):
       1. Add subfield $x [Vols.] withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
          
          Example: 852 8_ $ hup $h 21679-7071 $x Vols. 1-10 Withdrawn, 5/3/04                                                                                                                                                                                          
          
       2. Delete 863 fields for withdrawn volumes.
       3. Delete Item Records.
       4. Stamp pieces “Discard.”
   12. Videos
       1. Suppress bibliographic record.
       2. Suppress MFHD.
       3. Change location code to wdn.
       4. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] or $x Withdrawn Missing, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
       5. Set Item Status to Withdrawn and/or Missing.
       6. Cancel holdings in OCLC.
       7. Stamp piece “Discard.”
2. Statistics: Keep totals for monthly recording.
3. Recycle.

DVD Withdrawals

Damaged videos:

1. Suppress bibliographic record, if last copy.
2. Suppress MFHD.
3. Change location to wdn.
4. Add subfield $x Withdrawn, [date] to the 852 field following the call number.
5. Set Item Status to Withdrawn and Damaged.
6. Change Permanent location to Withdrawn.
7. Cancel holdings in OCLC, if last copy.
8. Destroy and dispose of item.

Missing videos:

1. Add subfield $x Missing, [date] to the 852 field in the MFHD.
2. Set Item Status to Missing.