Carbondale & Jackson County
Local NewsPresidential Constitution LawsElectoral CollegeLibrary and Campus Events
General Tutorials
CareerConstitutionCopyrightEarthquakeGenealogyKatrinaPaul SimonPresidential ElectionSustainabilityWaterAmerican IndianAnthropologyData/Statistics
Get StartedSearching Digital DocumentsSearching Science GovDocsSearch by Documents TypesCatalogs, Indexes, PortalsOnline Resources List
CatalogsIndexes, Web Portals, Encyclopedias, Guides...BiographyCongressHistorical StatisticsPresidentsPublic OpinionSupreme CourtDocuments Asked by Users
This is the "Career" page of the "Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library   Tags: government documents, resources  

This guide serves as a point of access to government information for the constituents of Southern Illinois University of Carbondale and the citizens of Illinois' 12th Congressional District.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/govdocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Career Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

usa.gov

Jobs, Education, and Volunteerism

Find government information on education, training, finding a job, public service and volunteerism, workplace issues and more.

  • Education and Training
    Primary, secondary, and higher education; adult, vocational, and special education; financial aid; job training; literacy resources...
  • Finding a Job
    Choosing a career, building a resume, applying for jobs, becoming self-employed, government jobs...
  • Government Jobs
    Federal, state, local, military, and volunteer opportunities available from the U.S. government...
  • Public Service and Volunteer Opportunities
    Learn more about government and public service; donate goods and money; give blood; volunteer your time...
  • Workplace Issues
    Family and medical leave, labor relations, the minimum wage, workers' compensation, workplace safety...
 

Featured Government Career Resources

American Job Center http://jobcenter.usa.gov/ “As the cornerstone of the American Job Center Network this site provides a single access point - open 24-7 - to key federal programs and critical local resources to help people find a job, identify training programs, and gain skills in growing industries. Connecting Americans to online resources from across the federal government, nearly 3,000 brick-and-mortar American Job Centers, and hundreds of local training programs and job resources funded through federal grants. No matter what state you're in, whether you're online or visiting in person, when you see American Job Center Network, take comfort knowing you're in the right place to jump start your job search, explore new career options, or tap into the most talented and dedicated workforce in the world.” This site is a product of collective thoughts and inputs from the following agencies: Department of Education, Department of Labor, Department of Veterans Affairs, General Services Administration, Small Business Administration, and The White House. They have pledged their commitment to making this the site for information on strengthening the American workforce.

Education and Training at USA.gov http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Education-Training.shtml

  • Education and Training
    Primary, secondary, and higher education; adult, vocational, and special education; financial aid; job training; literacy resources...
  • Finding a Job
    Choosing a career, building a resume, applying for jobs, becoming self-employed, government jobs...
  • Government Jobs
    Federal, state, local, military, and volunteer opportunities available from the U.S. government...
  • Public Service and Volunteer Opportunities
    Learn more about government and public service; donate goods and money; give blood; volunteer your time...
  • Workplace Issues
    Family and medical leave, labor relations, the minimum wage, workers' compensation, workplace safety...

Employment. Disability.gov https://www.disability.gov/employment Search state and national.

Occupational Outlook Handbook  www.bls.gov/oco/  Describes what workers do on the job, as well as working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.  Also includes DOT numbers that can be used to find job titles in O*Net Online (formerly Dictionary of Occupational Titles).  Produced by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Also produced annually as a book.  See http://stats.bls.gov/oco/cg/ for a guide to industries.

O*Net OnLine  http://online.onetcenter.org  A guide to the special language and jargon of hundreds of careers.  Find occupations by title, classification, and by skill.  Definitive source for finding occupational information.  Find descriptions of occupations using keywords, O*NET-SOC codes, Job Families, or by viewing a complete list. This is the online version of the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.  Produced by the U.S. Department of Labor. Newest print edition is in Reference Office, 3rd floor, HB 2595 .O16 2002.

Training and Career Development for Federal Employees at USA.gov. http://www.usa.gov/Federal-Employees/Training.shtml

o    Jobs

o    Performance Appraisals

USA.gov www.usa.gov This is the U.S. government's official web portal. USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Suggested words to start your search on resume: resume, resume builders, resume preparations, resume templates, resume tips. It pulls information by U.S. Federal and state agencies.

USAJOBS https://www.usajobs.gov/ “USAJOBS is the U.S. Government’s official system/program for Federal jobs and employment information. USAJOBS delivers a service by which Federal agencies meet their legal obligation (5 USC 3327 and 5 USC 3330) providing public notice of Federal employment opportunities to Federal employees and U.S. citizens. Technology and program operations offer Federal agencies and job seekers a modern platform to support online recruitment and job application.”

U.S. Office of Personnel Management’s Government-wide Veterans Employment Website http://www.fedshirevets.gov/About/index.aspx This website is a critical component of the Federal Government’s strategy for the recruitment and employment of Veterans.

 Veterans. Build Your Career. U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs http://www.va.gov/jobs/ “Resources for Veterans, their family members, and civilians to obtain career advice and find jobs. Whether you're looking for a job at VA, another federal agency, or you need help navigating opportunities in the private sector, the sites will help you through the process.”

Veterans Career. http://www.vacareers.va.gov/ VA offers a wide range of career fields and opportunities nationwide. Visit our online career center where you can search current openings, learn more about VA opportunities, and apply online or download the forms and applications you need.

Veteran Employment Services Office (VESO) VESO http://vaforvets.va.gov/sites/veso/Pages/default.aspx This is a strategic program management office that oversees all VA Veteran employment initiatives and manages VA for Vets, its flagship initiative. VA for Vets is a comprehensive career support and management program for Veterans, National Guard, Reserve members and VA employees.

Work 4 Illinois - Disabled Workers Programs http://work.illinois.gov/disabpgm.htm The Central Management Services Division of Examining and Counseling administers several programs and services for people with disabilities through the Disabled Workers Program. The Disabled Workers Program is conducted through the Springfield Assessment Center. The Alternative Employment Program (AEP), the Successful Disability (SD) Opportunities Program, and the Supported Employment Program (SEP) are administered to assist persons with disabilities pursuing state employment. The Accommodated Testing Program is administered to provide persons with disabilities testing assistance.

 

 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip