Research Guides: Human Nutrition and Dietetics: Resources

Key Databases

AGRICOLA (5 simultaneous users)
CAB Abstracts
CAB Direct indexes resources in all agricultural fields as well as nutrition, environmental studies, and the life sciences. It includes coverage from 1973-present. Note: This is the same database as CAB Abstracts on a different platform with different dates of coverage.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Focuses on allied health.
PubMed
Human health. To search for dietary supplements, use the subject term (also called MeSH term) "dietary supplements" and connect it with your supplement term, e.g.:"Dietary Supplements"[Mesh] AND anthocyanins
Web of Science
Covers many disciplines in depth. Uses keyword searching. It includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool (EndNote).

Also Try

Health Evidence (McMaster University)
"Provides quality research evidence to public health decision makers, saving you time by searching, screening, and rating the systematic review evidence to compile it in a free, searchable online registry."
Human Microbiome, Diet, and Health, The (US Institute of Medicine)
Workshop summary. From the website: "The Food Forum convened a public workshop on February 22-23, 2012, to explore current and emerging knowledge of the human microbiome, its role in human health, its interaction with the diet, and the translation of new research findings into tools and products that improve the nutritional quality of the food supply. The Human Microbiome, Diet, and Health: Workshop Summary summarizes the presentations and discussions that took place during the workshop." Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 2013.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
From the website: "The LactMed database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency."
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
"Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations."
Overweight and Obesity Evidence-based Resources
Includes evidence-based interventions from the US Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion as part of the Healthy People 2030 project.

PsycINFO
PsycTESTS
Repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
PubAg
SciFinder-n Registration (for first time users)
First-time users need to register with a .siu.edu email address.
SciFinder-n
Chemistry database.
SocIndex with Full Text
SportDiscus with Full Text

USDA Nutrition Evidence Systematic Reviews
From the site: "The staff at Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review (NESR), formerly the Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL), specializes in conducting food- and nutrition-related systematic reviews. " You may search the site by keyword, or browse a list of articles by clicking on the Publications link. Older (Pre-2021) systematic reviews are also posted at the National Library of Medicine's Bookshelf.

Nutrient Databases

FoodData Central, USDA
Includes the following databases: USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Legacy Release; Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS); USDA Branded Food Products Database; Composition of Foods Raw, Processed, Prepared USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Release