Research Guides: ENGR 304i: Social History of American Technology: Home

Overview Materials

Credo Reference
Reference works in all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc. Includes statistics, definitions, biographies, quotations, videos, maps, etc.
Cambridge Histories Online
Over 260 volumes works on history published since 1960.
Opposing Viewpoints
Explores controversial topics by bringing together information needed to understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles for context, full-text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and multimedia files and links.

Books

I-Share
Search libraries across Illinois for books, journals, DVDs, and more. Requests usually are delivered to our Circulation Desk within a week.

Books at Morris Library

From Gutenberg to Zuckerberg by John Naughton
Call Number: TK5105.875.I57 N38 2014x
ISBN: 9781623650629
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Routledge Handbook of Science, Technology and Society by Daniel Lee Kleinman (Editor); Kelly Moore (Editor)
Call Number: Q175.5 .R68 2014
ISBN: 9780415531528
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
The Machine in America by Carroll W. Pursell
Call Number: T14.5 .P87 2007
ISBN: 9780801885785
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Technology's Storytellers by John M. Staudenmaier
Call Number: 306.46 S798T
ISBN: 0262192373
Publication Date: 1985-04-01

Trade Publications from Engineering Societies

ASEE Prism, American Society for Engineering Education Online access does not include the most recent month's issue, see the print copy for the current month.
ASHRAE Journal, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
IEEE Spectrum, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Industrial Engineer, Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE)
Mechanical Engineering Magazine, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Quality Progress, American Society for Quality (ASQ)

ARTICLES (IN JOURNALS AND MAGAZINES) - ENGINEERING

IEEE Xplore
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text is available for more than 730 periodicals.
Web of Science
Provides access to over 170 million citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Allows cited reference searches. Tutorials available at https://www.youtube.com/user/WoSTraining.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 other publications.

Other Relevant Databases

America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present covering 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
SocIndex with Full Text
Contains over 1,600,000 citations, abstracts for 640 core journals in the social sciences dating back to 1895. Indexes books, conference papers, and other sources and includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. Combines Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender.
Women and Social Movements, Scholars Edition
Collection organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
HeinOnline (SIU Law Library subscription)
Provides more than 200 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more.

Google Scholar

Primary Sources

Primary sources can help you discover what was written about a technology as it was introduced or accepted.

Patents give a description of how a technology works and possibly how it improved previous technologies.

Newspapers, magazines, and editorials from the time a technology was introduced can give important information. Technologies that were controversial, had a lot of government involvement, involved major court cases, or made big impacts right away would be more likely to make it to the news when they were introduced.

If the technology caused problems, legislative documents can show debates and laws that were passed in response to those problems.

Advertisements from the time a technology was introduced may compare the new technology to previous technologies. Advertisements might also give you an idea of how the technology was marketed toward a particular ethnic group or gender.

Patent Public Search, USPTO
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's full text search of patents from the United States
Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs. The basic patent search uses the familiar Google one-box interface. Click on “Advanced Patent Search” for detailed searches, such as by title, classification code, or year.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes the Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), The Chicago Defender (1905-1975), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. Also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Chicago Defender, 1910 - 1975
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority ,and native presses. Coverage begins in 1960.
ProQuest Congressional
Indexes congressional hearings, prints, bills, historical publications, (1789-1969) and unpublished hearings (1823-1972). Full text of congressional bills and resolutions (from 1989), reports and documents, biographical and voting information for members of Congress, the Federal Register (from 1980), the Congressional Record (from 1985), and the National Journal (from 1977).

USA.gov
It is the U.S. government's official web portal (all levels, types, and branches). One can conduct a site search, search by A-Z index of Federal agencies, categories. etc.
An American Time Capsule
Collection of primary source materials from the Library of Congress dating from the seventeenth century to the present. Items in the collection include advertisements, catalogs, pamphlets, clippings, tickets, and more.
GovInfo
Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Subject Guide

Jennifer Horton

Email Me

Contact:

Morris Library
Room 290
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL

618-453-1459

Subjects: Biochemistry, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Electrical Engineering Technology, Engineering Science, Fermentation Science, Geology, Industrial Management and Applied Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics

Citation Styles

APA Style and Formatting (OWL)
Quick guide for citing resources in APA style.

IEEE Editorial Style Manual, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

Other Morris Library Research Guides

Agricultural Sciences
by Mary Taylor Last Updated Jan 9, 2024 10 views this year
Business
by Ask A Librarian Last Updated Nov 28, 2023 13 views this year
Engineering
by Jennifer Horton Last Updated Oct 16, 2023 13 views this year
Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
by Ask A Librarian Last Updated Dec 19, 2023 5 views this year
Automotive Technology
by Ask A Librarian Last Updated Oct 11, 2023 24 views this year
Aviation
by Ask A Librarian Last Updated Feb 12, 2024 115 views this year

Morris Library

ENGR 304i: Social History of American Technology: Home

ON THIS PAGE