Start Here
Frequently Used Databases
- Health Source: Consumer EditionSearch for articles in over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health. Also includes abstracts for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Uses EBSCO.
- MedlinePlusExtensive consumer information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
- Consumer Health CompleteCHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
- Cancer Literature in PubMed - National Cancer InstituteAn online index to the cancer-related literature in PubMed that can be searched by both word and topic. From the National Cancer Institute.
- PubMedSearch for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences.
- MEDLINESearch for articles in over 4,800 journals from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences and much more. Uses EBSCO.
- Cochrane LibrarySearch for articles in more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals. The world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
- CINAHL Plus Full TextSearch for journal articles in over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health from 1937 to the present. Uses EBSCO.
- Health Source: Nursing/AcademicSearch for full-text journal articles in over 550 journals in the medical, nursing and allied health disciplines. Uses EBSCO.
Frequently Used Websites
- MedlinePlus
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - A-Z Index
- Healthfinder.gov
- MayoClinic
- The Cleveland Clinic Health Information Center
- Familydoctor.org
- HealthLink
- National Library of Medicine Gateway Search
- NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
- NetWellness
- Health News Review - Objective Ratings of Health and Medical Journalism
Health Sciences Librarian |
Contact Info Morris Library Room 260E Southern Illinois University Carbondale, IL (618)453-1448 Send Email |



Loading...
