Research Guides: Horticulture: Resources

In this Guide

	> Frequently Used Databases
	> More Databases
	> Search Tips for Articles
	> Morris Library Catalog & I-Share
	> Is Peer-Reviewed? Handouts
	> Can't find it at Morris?
	> Get Help

Handouts

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan. Check and request books from I-Share first before requesting books through this service.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
more...less...
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409

WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.

Frequently Used Databases

AGRICOLA (5 simultaneous users)
Agriculture database from the USDA National Agricultural Library.
CAB Abstracts
CAB Direct indexes resources in horticulture and all agricultural fields. It includes coverage from 1973-present.
Business Source Complete
Good for the business side of horticulture.
JSTOR
Turfgrass Information File

More Databases

Acta Horticulturae
Full text series including the "the proceedings of ISHS [International Society for Horticultural Science] Symposia and the International Horticultural Congress (from the site)."

Academic Search Complete

AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
Search full text extension documents, agricultural experiment station documents, and other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information."

PLANTS Database (National Resources Conservation Service, USDA)

Search Tips for Articles

Break your topic into the main concepts and use connectors (and, or) for your search:

What are the economic costs of tomato pests ? --> Pests and tomatoes and economic costs
Use synonyms to expand your search and connect them with or:

horticulturists or floriculturists
Peaches or Prunus persica
Link from subjects or descriptors found in article citations to find others.
Use limits, such as language, publication date, and publication type (e.g., scholarly journals or peer-reviewed journals, review articles).
Combine searches in Search History.
Use truncation symbols if available, e.g. pest* will find pest, pests, or pesticides
Limit to words in the title or abstract to narrow your search

Morris Library Catalog and I-Share

Books and chapters in books can give you an overview on a particular topic.

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, etc. by using the Morris Library catalog

You may limit your search to just Morris Library, or if you have 7-10 days, used the drop down menu to search All I-Share and request that materials be sent to the library.