This is the "Instructional Materials Collection" page of the "Material Types" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Material Types   Tags: resources  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/materialtypes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Instructional Materials Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IMC Collection Formats

The IMC holds materials in a variety of formats.

Children’s Literature

Books appropriate for the preschool child through young adult are divided into four areas: big books (folio size), easy books, fiction, and non-fiction. You may look them up in I-Share @ Morris Library by subject, title or author.

Big Books

Big Books are oversized books designed for group story time. They are shelved on the first book shelves in the Children’s Literature Collection.

Children’s Posters

The Poster Collection is comprised of over 2,000 educational posters. The posters are organized according to subject category and are shelved in cabinets adjacent to the children’s books. Posters are cataloged in I-Share @ Morris Library. Click for tips in searching for posters in I-Share @ Morris Library.

Teacher Resource Books

Books containing reproducible activities designed to enhance classroom programs are shelved on the wall near the Children’s Literature Collection. Example: Masterpiece of the Month: an art appreciation program for grades K-5 by Jennifer Thomas. N350 .T5 1990x

Textbook Collection

This collection consists of sample textbooks from various publishers for grades preK-12. The textbooks are shelved adjacent to the Children’s Literature Collection.

Curriculum Guides

Publications from state departments of education as well as city and county school systems are arranged by subject. They are shelved next to the Textbook Collection.

IMC Office Collections are not cataloged in I-Share @ Morris Library but are listed in the card catalog located outside the IMC Office on the third floor of Morris Library.

The 3-D Collection is made up of CDs, games, puppets, manipulatives, and story aids. Examples: Strega Nona puppet, and human eye model. These items must be checked out of the IMC Office on the third floor of Morris Library.

The Resource Files include lesson plans and supplemental teaching materials. Examples: Lois Lowry, Plants, and Nutrition. These items must be checked out of the IMC Office on the third floor.

The Test Collection includes a sample of standardized psychological, educational, and vocational tests. Publisher restrictions apply: tests must be used in the library and cannot be photocopied. Test files are located outside the IMC office on the third floor and will be retrieved upon request. Consult The Mental Measurements Yearbook (online and in print at the Information Desk) for information on and reviews of standardized tests.

About the IMC

The Instructional Materials Center supports the mission of the Library and the University. The IMC is essential to the instructional and research needs of students and faculty in programs preparing teachers for PreK-12 schools. The IMC houses educational resources that provide curriculum and instructional experiences for PreK-12 students. These materials are used by educators to develop curricula and lesson plans and may also be used in actual instructional situations.

The IMC is located on the third floor of Morris Library.

The IMC Office is open Monday – Friday from 1-5pm. Assistance is available at the third floor Help Desk.

      
     

    Locating IMC Materials

    Children’s books, CDs, posters and videos are cataloged in I-Share @ Morris Library.

    • Click on Advanced I-Share Search.
    • Adding the term "Juvenile" will limit your search to children's materials.
    • Scroll down to the bottom of the page and limit your search to SIUC Only.
    • Narrow your search to IMC/Children's Materials.

    IMC non-fiction books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal System.

    IMC easy books and fiction books are arranged alphabetically by author’s last name.

    Children’s videos are interfiled with the other videos on the third floor.

    • To search I-Share @ Morris Library for children's videos, use either of the following subject headings: ‘video recordings for children’ or ‘children’s films’

    Assistance is available from a librarian at the Help Desk on the third floor or the Information Desk on the first floor.

     

    Borrowing from the IMC

    Special rules apply to checking materials out of the IMC.

    • All materials in the Instructional Materials Center may be borrowed.
    • The loan period is two weeks.
    • Bar-coded books, textbooks, posters and CDs may be checked out directly at the Circulation Desk with a valid University ID card.
    • IMC Office collection 3-D items, games and software must be checked out of the IMC Office on the third floor of Morris Library with a valid SIU ID card.
     

    Services at the IMC

    The IMC staff is ready and willing to assist users who want to work with its collections.

    Research Assistance

    A staff member can meet with you to help you in your research. Contact the IMC Office at imc@lib.siu.edu to set up an appointment.

    Access to IMC Office Materials After IMC Hours

    If you need IMC Office materials and cannot come to the library during normal service hours, feel free to contact us. We will be glad to gather some materials for you to pick up in the evening or on a weekend. Please give us two days notice. Contact the IMC Office at imc@lib.siu.edu for more information.

    Ask A Librarian

    Profile Image
    We're Here to Help!
    There seems to be something wrong with your browser. Please try reloading this page.

    Contact Morris

    Morris Library
    Southern Illinois University
    Carbondale, IL 62901
    Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
    Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
    Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

    Web Administrator

    Copyright

    © 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip