Research Guides: ANS 426: Comparative Endocrinology: Books and Other Stuff

Quick Links

Morris Library Catalog
Search for books, e-books, movies, CDs, government documents at Morris Library
I-Share
Search libraries across Illinois for books, journals, DVDs, and more. Requests usually are delivered to our Circulation Desk within a week.
WorldCat
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find an item in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
more...less...
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409

Selected Books

These books are provided so that you can get an overview of your topics and find additional references to the primary literature, but they may not be cited in your review papers.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)
Gives brief overviews of different syndromes with lists of references. From the site: "A fulltext resource that includes 4,200 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. The appendix and glossary include biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data."

The Badgers of Wytham Woods by David Macdonald; Chris Newman
ISBN: 9780192845368
Publication Date: 2023-02-03
From the ebook summary "This accessible monograph engages 50 years of primary research woven around the badgers of Wytham Woods (Oxford, UK), covering topics as diverse as life history strategy, climate change biology, genetics, communication, senescence, immunology, endocrinology, and epidemiology"
Crustaceans: endocrinology, biology and aquaculture by Valerio Zupo
ISBN: 9780367420703
Publication Date: 2022-12-01
From the ebook summary: "A comprehensive view of crustacean endocrinology and reproductive ecology is provided, along with information about their molecular physiology, adaptations, aquaculture and welfare."
Hot topics in endocrinology and metabolism by Heshmati, Hassan M., editor.
ISBN: 1839629118
Publication Date: 2021
Comparative Endocrine Stress Responses in Vertebrates by Lluis Tort, Edward Narayan and John Cockrem (editors)
ISBN: 2889633179
Publication Date: 2019
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology by Shlomo Melmed; Kenneth S. Polonsky; P. Reed Larsen; Henry M. Kronenberg
Call Number: RC648 .T46 2011
ISBN: 9781437703245
Publication Date: 2011
This print textbook has overviews of many human endocrine-related syndromes and disorders, with extensive reference lists. Located on the 5th floor of Morris Library.

Dissertations and Theses

For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.

Morris Library Catalog
Searchable catalog of print and electronic materials accessible through Morris Library. Includes books, journals, eBooks, government documents, DVDs, CDs, and more.
Dissertations and Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Contains Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses produced by SIUC students. Full text PDFs are included when available. Note: records include an option to buy a print or microform copy of a dissertation or thesis, but Morris Library can loan its print copies of dissertations and theses for free.
Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Includes more than one million electronic theses and dissertations from across the globe. Faceted searches available by language, continent, country, date, format, and source institution. Not all theses and dissertations included are open-access.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Indexes over 1.8 million theses and dissertations from more than 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions
Research Papers from SIUC
Primarily papers written after 2008. Search the library catalog for older papers.