A guide to research in Curriculum and Instruction.
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,650 periodicals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks. It covers PK-12 education, adult education, continuing education, higher education, school administration, literacy standards, teaching methods and much more.
- ERIC (Ovid)
ERIC contains more than 1, 250,000 records and links to full-text documents from the Educational Resource Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes lesson plans.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. An easy path to check if an author has been cited by other researchers.
PsychINFO contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from 1887-present includes international material selected from more than 2, 200 periodicals.
- Credo Reference
Credo contains dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject specific titles covering every topic including elementary and secondary education, media, teaching and learning.
- Professional Development Collection
Professional Development is designed for professional educators and provides full text access to nearly 520 specialized education journals and reports.
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for many popular teacher and administration journals and magazines on such topics as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, etc.
Offers interactive practice exams for the GRE and PRAXIS and other exams. It includes an optional timed environment and the ability to stop and later return to a test. Results include explanations of correct answers.
- Education in Video: Volume I
The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
- Fairy Tales Resources
A bilbiography of famous and infamous US and international fairy tales and children's literature (with links to the actual tale). Submitted by Ms. Kim's Westwood Youth Group class.
Databases useful for Children's Literature Research:
- Books in Print
Information on in-print, out-of-print and forthcoming textbooks, tradebooks, e-books, DVDs/videos and audio. Searchable by subject, award winners, and reading level.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
CLCD provides critical reviews for children's literature. The site includes biographical information about authors/illustrators and themed reviews by subject.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
The Encyclopedia authoritatively documents and interprets every work, major and minor, that has played a role in the history of children's literature in the world.
- Primary Search
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. Full text dates back to 1990.
- SurLaLune Fairy Tales
Dedicated to the study of fairy tales, this website includes in depth studies of 45 fairy tales, over 1, 400 illustrations and activities for home and school.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular magazines such as America's Civil War, Discover, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc as well as 360 reference books and 100,000 primary source documents.
- MLA International Bibliography
MLA provides detailed bibliographies of journal articles, books and dissertations. It includes critical material on literature written for children and young adults.
- International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL is committed to creating a digital library of outstanding children's books from all over the world. The collection includes nearly 4000 books in 54 languages.
- New Illinois Learning Standards Incorporating the Common Core
The Illinois State Board of Education has adopted new Math and English Language Arts standards for K-12 education.
- Universal Design of Instruction (UDI): Definition, Principles, Guidelines, and Examples
UDL is a set of principles for curriculum development that give all individuals equal opportunities to learn.
- K-12 Illinois Information Literacy & Technology Standards
To aid teachers incorporating information literacy skills in lessons.
- Applying Big6Skills, AASL Standards and NET Standards to Internet Research
Janet Murray's site correlates Eisenberg's and Berkowitz's Big6 Skills with the Standards for the 21st Century Learner (American Assoc. of School Librarians) and the National Educational Technology Standards for Students.
- Accelerate Reader (AR)
A link to Accelerated Reader(AR) produced by Renaissance Learning, Inc. You do not need a keycode to search for appropriate titles.
An online charity connecting donors to classrooms.
- Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
The CCBC is part of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Education. Here you will find direct links to lists of annual awards and distictions.
Includes "backward design" worksheet ideas and activities. "Backward Design" is the practice of looking at the outcomes in order to design curriculum units, performance assessments, and classroom instruction.
- Children's Authors in the Yahoo! Directory
Resources about children's books and authors including biographies, fan sites, news, interviews, study guides and lesson plans.