AgricultureGeospatialTransportationEnergyEnvironmentHealthScience/Technology/Millitary
Business/Economics/FinanceCensus/PopulationCriminal JusticeDemographic-SocialEducationElections/VotingLaborPollingSportsHealth
This is the "Home" page of the "Data/Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Data/Statistics   Tags: agriculture, archive, big data, business, census, data, digital, digital humanities, federal, food, free, gis, government, health, illinois, linked open data, map, metadata. open data, open, resource, science, social science, state, statistics  

open, data, government, free, resource, statistics, number
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/data Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Collection

Historical statistics of the United States - Carter, Susan B. (Eds.)
Online reference book. Available to current SIUC students, faculty, and staff.

 

Google Custom Data Search

Try our Google Custom Data Search

Morris Library Geospatial Resource Collection

 

About

Welcome to this Data/Statistics LibGuide.

This guide is designed to help you find and access data and statistics grouped by different subject areas - Science, Social Science, and Humanities

The guide has a section "Using Data - Get Started." Hopfully the links provided in this section can provide you some basic information that can help you get started with using the data you found, It also provides convenient links to some statistical software resources on campus - Morris Library, Computer classrooms and labs, and softwares that are free for SIUC faculty and students to download. Click here or click the tab on the top menu "Using Data - Get Started" to access to the detailed information.

The guide also has a section that collects some information that helps you catch up with the developing data trends that you might find interesting to know about. Click here or click the tab on the top menu "Data Trends" to access it.

 

Data Sharing and Management Snafu in 3 Short Acts

U.S. Sources

  • data.gov
    Data.gov provides public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
  • FedStats

IL Sources

 

International and Foreign Sources

  • International Statistical Agencies
    Listing of country statistical agencies provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • CIA - The World Factbook
    The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
  • Statistics explained
    Statistics Explained is an official Eurostat website presenting all possible statistical topics in an easily understandable way. Together, the articles make up everyone's encyclopedia of European statistics, completed by a statistical glossary clarifying all terms used and by numerous links to further information and the very latest data and metadata, a portal for occasional and regular users alike.
 

General

  • ICPSR

What is IPCSR?

"ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michiganand maintains its office in Ann Arbor.

This is an international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR providing leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields." (Learn More)

New User: Create Account

Returning User: Login

Use ICPSR for Data Archive:

OpenICPSR accepts any kind of file, except for image, audio, video, and ZIP files, which either create too many disclosure issues or tend to outstrip our file size limitations.

      • Deposit Data

        ICPSR prefers to receive data in the following formats:

        • Quantitative data files: SPSS, SAS or Stata
        • Qualitative data files: raw ASCII text format (Plain Text Format) or Rich-Text Format (RTF)
        • Video files: MPEG4 or JPEG2000
        • Audio files: .aif or .wa

SIUC is a member of ICPSR. For more information about the member benefits and other assistance of using ICPSR, please contact SIUC Official Representative (OR):

Professor Darren Sherkat
Sociology
Mailcode 4524
Carbondale IL 62901-0000
Email: sherkat@siu.edu
Phone: 618-453-2494

What is STATS America?

STATS America is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. We obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data.

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
We're Here to Help!
There seems to be something wrong with your browser. Please try reloading this page.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip