- Alan Lomax Sound Recording Collection
From the Association for Cultural Equity Online Archive, 7,000+ streaming audio recordings organized into 30 collections of folk, blues, jazz, and more.
- American Memory Project – Music section
32 collections of recordings, films, sheet music, and photographs from the Library of Congress' American Memory Project. Includes historical African American music recordings, folk music, Aaron Copeland, Emile Berliner, and Leonard Bernstein collections.
- Aria Database
Searchable database of Aria texts and recordings from 1288 Arias, 177 Operas, 65 Composers, 389 Translations.
- Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection
From Syracuse University, searchable database of sound recordings from 22,000 wax cylinders from around the world, 12,000 of which are unique titles.
- Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
A digital collection of over 8,000 cylinder recordings from around the world, at the UC Santa Barbara Library.
- Digital Library Directory – Music section
List of digital collections from around the web-- not all sound recordings, many sheet music and images archives as well.
- Internet Archive: Audio Archive
Includes the Live Music Archive and the Music & Arts collection.
- Irish Traditional Music Archive
These are the sound recordings available-- the archive also has interactive scores, video, and images.
- James Koetting Ghana field recording collection (Brown University)
Field recordings from ethnomusicologist James Koetting's work in Ghana in the 1970's.
- Judaica Sound Archives, Florida Atlantic University
Currently 12607 songs from Judiaca sound recordings from a variety of time periods.
- Louisiana State Museum Jazz Collection
Recordings of Louisiana Jazz-- digital files can be opened with VLC player.
- MacEdward Leach and the songs of Atlantic Canada
Songs of Cape Breton and Newfoundland from folklorist MacEdward Leach.
- MDZ Digital Collections – Music
Digitized works of Beethoven, Handel, Wagner, and more-- not sure about sound recordings, but definitely some scores and manuscripts. May come up in German-- click "English" or UK flag to translate.
- Milman Parry Collection
Includes digital recordings from the south Slavic oral traditions recorded by Parry.
- Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress)
Manuscripts and sheet music.
- National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
Includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
- Oscar Peterson
A collection from the Library and Archives of Canada. Website is more than 10 years old-- requires VLC player.
- Sound Recording History, British Library
Includes Alan Blumlein oral history recordings, record catalogs from 1989-1926.
- The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
Digitized recordings of Mexican and Mexican American music, from over 130,000 individual recordings on cassettes and 78 rpm, 45 rpm, and 33 1/3 rpm long-playing (lp) records.
- The Virtual Gramophone: Canadian historical sound recordings
From the Library and Archives Canada--more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings from Canadian artists.