A guide to research in Educational Psychology.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2013
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,650 periodicals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks. It covers PK-12 education, adult education, continuing education, higher education, school administration, literacy standards, teaching methods and much more.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC contains more than 1, 250,000 records and links to full-text documents from the Educational Resource Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes lesson plans.
PsychINFO contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from 1887-present includes international material selected from more than 2, 200 periodicals.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
The only online training resource that lets researchers and students watch actual therapy sessions. Morris Library has Volume I and Volume II. Volume I includes more than 400 hours of training videos, reenactments, and actual therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. Volume II focuses on child therapy, geriatric therapy, family therapy, culturally-sensative therapy and cognitive-behavioral therapy.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
The encyclopedia succinctly defines more than 600 concepts.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. An easy path to check if an author has been cited by other researchers.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (ie. tests, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences and organizational behavior.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including psychiatry.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
MMY, produced by the Buros Institute, contains descriptive information and full text reviews of standardized tests as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." Print copies of older editions: BF176.M45
- National Center for Education Statistics
U.S. Department of Education database of educational statistics.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association, (APA), contains complete articles from over 60 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF). Useful for researching:Counseling, Cross-cultural counseling, Group counseling, Professional Competencies and more.
- PsycCritiques (EBSCOhost)
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsychCRITIQUES has full text book reviews of scholarly and professional books in psychology as well as films and trade books. Useful for researching: Counseling, School counseling, Counseling psychology, and Professional ethics and more.
- SocIndex with Full Text
While it is a major sociology database, SocINDEX is useful for many areas of psychology, especially social psychology.
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment and education. The Forum annually publishes "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being."
- Educational Psychology Topics
A number of Educational Psychology resources from McGraw-Hill Publishing Co.