Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian
Morris Library Room 260C
Try these links to search scholarly articles, primary sources, and more. Don't see what you're looking for? See All English Databases.
- MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Full text, non-current scholarly journals in multiple disciplines.
- Project Muse
Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Concise, up to date biographic entries for men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
Entries list editorial contact info, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. Also statistics on number articles and book reviews published vs submitted each year.
- Swift Studies: the annual of the Ehrenpreis Center (1989-2003)
1989-2000 located in Basement--Dewey Books: 827.5 S977Zsw
2001-2003 located on 5th Floor: PR3726 .A17
- Online.Swift (Ehrenpreis Center)
Online critical editions of Swift's prose with introduction and variorum commentary.
- Swift Studies Table of Contents
Locate the table of contents for all issues of Swift Studies. Useful for requesting articles not available at Morris (2003-present) through Interlibrary Loan.
These tools allow you to searching multiple library databases and/or all electronic resources. Useful for locating specific articles from a citation.
Library discovery tool: searching all SIU library resources at once.
- Google Scholar
This link will route you to Google Scholar through the library proxy, giving you access to Full Text @ Morris where available.
For primary resources and searching in multi-disciplinary scholarly databases. Don't see what you're looking for? See All English Databases.
- Books in Print
"A bibliographic database with more than 5 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book,audio book, and video titles."
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
Critical analysis and biographical information on over 100,000 authors, published between 1973, vol. 1 to 2012, vol. 324.
- Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 titles of early English literature.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Provides comprehensive coverage of the history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland, individual authors, and histories of literary themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
- Literature Online (LION)
Over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century. Also includes an extensive collection of criticism and reference materials. Contains ABELL.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745 Criticism and interpretation.
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745 Poetic works.
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745 Political and social views.
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745. Gulliver's travels.
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745 Knowledge. (+ Languages, Ireland, Style)
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745. Satire, English.
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745. Authors, Irish.
Satire, English History and criticism. 18th century.
Satirists, English 18th century.
A Quantitative Approach to the Style of Swift.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.