A guide to research in Environmental Studies.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology
Covers many aspects of agriculture and the environmental impact of agriculture.
- Annual Reviews
Contains full text review articles (overview articles) on multiple topics. Includes the Annual Review of Environment and Resources, Annual Review of Political Sciences, Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, and more.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
ASFA contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. You may also want to search Water Resources Abstracts.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields as well as forestry, biology, riparian environments, conservation, etc. Coverage: 1990-present.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
- Congressional (ProQuest)
NOT included in OneSearch.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
- Environment and Energy Daily
Includes access to ClimateWire, GreenWire, EnergyWire, and Environment and Energy PM. NOT included in OneSearch.
- GeoRef (Ovid)
Primary reference source for geological articles, books, report, maps, and other sources worldwide. NOT included in OneSearch.
- LexisNexis Academic Search
This full-text database indexes over 6,000 sources including journals, magazines, blogs, and newspaper articles. NOT included in OneSearch.
From the site: "PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles. The initial release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements."
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Water Resources Abstracts
Covers the "characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources." Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, a related database, covers "the marine environment and biological material." Per the publisher's choice, this database is NOT included in OneSearch.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.