This is the "Home" page of the "Fermentation Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fermentation Science   Tags: beer, fermentation, wine  

A guide to research in fermentation science.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/fermentation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other Useful Research Guides

 

Fermentation - Books

Cover Art
Fermentation and Biochemical Engineering Handbook - Celeste M. Todaro (Editor); Henry C. Vogel (Editor)
Call Number: TP248.3 .T38 2014x
ISBN: 9781455725533
Publication Date: 2014-03-25

Cover Art
The Art of Fermentation - Sandor Ellix Katz; Michael Pollan (Foreword by)
Call Number: General Non-Fiction : Katz : 06/2013
ISBN: 9781603582865
Publication Date: 2012-05-14


Cover Art
Fermentation Microbiology and Biotechnology - A. L. Demain (Editor)
Call Number: TP248.27.M53 F467 2007
ISBN: 9780849353345
Publication Date: 2006-10-25

Key Databases

  • AGRICOLA  
      
    "This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.1 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture."
  • PubAg (US Department of Agriculture)
    From the site:"PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles."
  • CAB Abstracts (1990-present)  
      
    Indexes journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields as well as forestry, veterinary medicine, and biological information. Very comprehensive.
  • SciFinder (Web version login)  
      
    SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below.
  • SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)  
      
    First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
  • ACS (American Chemical Society)  
      
    The American Chemical Society publishes many major chemistry journals. ACS can be used to search the full text of these journals or to browse them.

Trade Journals

  • Grapevine Magazine
    From the site, "The Grapevine Magazine's mission is to bring together buyers and suppliers in the viniculture industry."
  • Harpers Wine & Spirit
    Provides trends and developments in the UK drinks industry.
  • Beverage Dynamics
    Magazine that focuses on wine, beer, and spirits. Includes information for hospitality professionals and retail decision makers.

Government Agencies

 

Books - Wine

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Wine - Jancis Robinson (Editor); Julia Harding (Editor)
Call Number: TP548 .O76 2015
ISBN: 9780198705383
Publication Date: 2015-10-01

Cover Art
Wine Production and Quality - Keith Grainger; Hazel Tattersall
Call Number: TP548 .G683 2016
ISBN: 9781118934555
Publication Date: 2016-03-21

Cover Art
A Natural History of Wine - Ian Tattersall; Rob DeSalle; Patricia J. Wynne
Call Number: History : Tattersall : 03/2016
ISBN: 9780300211023
Publication Date: 2015-11-10

Cover Art
The Science of Wine - Jamie Goode
Call Number: TP548 .G626 2014x
ISBN: 9780520276895
Publication Date: 2014-04-01

Cover Art
Illinois Wines and Wineries - Clara Orban
Call Number: TP557.5.I3 O73 2014
ISBN: 9780809333448
Publication Date: 2014-06-30

 

Books - Beer

Cover Art
Brewing Materials and Processes - Charles Bamforth (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9780128004685
Publication Date: 2016-06-01

Cover Art
Biochemistry of Beer Fermentation - Eduardo Pires; Tomás Brányik
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 3319151894
Publication Date: 2015-02-09

Cover Art
The Brewer's Tale - William Bostwick
Call Number: TP573.A1 B67 2014
ISBN: 9780393239140
Publication Date: 2014-10-13

Cover Art
Froth! The Science of Beer - Mark Denny; M. Denny
Call Number: TP577 .D476 2009
ISBN: 9780801891328
Publication Date: 2009-05-06

Natural Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Taylor
Your JavaScript is disabled.
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip