This is the "Visual Resources" page of the "Public Domain and Creative Commons Visual Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Domain and Creative Commons Visual Resources   Tags: art, copyright  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/freevisualresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Visual Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Your Librarian

Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian

Contact Info
sprindle@lib.siu.edu

618/453-1249
Morris Library Room 260C

 

Search by Google Images Usage Rights

When searching Google Images, sort images licensed for reuse by clicking Search Tools and Usage Rights, then selecting your usage needs.

Labeled for reuse = commercial purposes

Labeled for noncommercial reuse = educational, fair use

"with modification" = original image can be repurposed for new work

Learn more about Creative Commons Licenses here.

Public Domain Images

These are collections of images in the public domain (to the best knowledge of the hosting site), and public domain works are free of copyright restrictions. Always double check that the individual image you are using is labeled for reuse.

  • Art Images for College Teaching
    A set of public domain images created by Minneapolis College of Art & Design students and staff.
  • Artsy
    Images on Artsy are believed to be in the public domain or made available without restriction elsewhere on the web, and pulled from various museums and galleries. These images can be reused for educational purposes.
  • Getty Search Gateway: Open Content Images
    Made available in Fall 2013, Getty Images made available more than 10,000 images from their collections. Many are in their public domain, and all can be reused for any purpose without permission through their Open Content Program.
  • Internet Archive Book Images (Flickr)
    A photostream with more than 2.5 million images taken from books digitized by the Internet Archive. All images here were published before 1923 and are in the public domain (no known copyright restrictions).
  • Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
    More than 1.2 million digitized images from the Library of Congress, many in the public domain.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art's Digital Collection
    Images in the Met's collection for images that are in the public domain are identified with a little "OASC" icon: OASC meaning Open Access for Scholarly Content .
  • National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
    The repository of digital images of the National Gallery of Art collections . More than 29,000 images, believed to be in the public domain, are available to download and use free of charge.
  • Rijksmuseum (Digital Collection)
    A Dutch national museum of art and art history, which has made 125,000 high-resolution images of art believed in the public domain in its collection available for download and reuse.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Many images are Creative Commons licensed (you must attribute but can freely use, edit, publish), public domain, or copyrighted with few restrictions.

Creative Commons Licensed Images

These sites host images that are under Creative Commons licenses (or similar), allowing blanket license for reuse, usually with certain restrictions. Always double check that the individual image you are using is labeled for reuse.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip