This is the "Resources @ Morris Library" page of the "HIST/WGSS 437: Lesbian and Gay History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST/WGSS 437: Lesbian and Gay History   Tags: gender, hist, history, sexuality, wgss  

Research Guide for History 437 and WGSS 437 with Professor Natasha Zaretsky.
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/gayandlesbianhistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources @ Morris Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Try These Books

Try these books in our collection.

Cover Art
Tomboys: a literary and cultural history - Michelle Ann Abate
Call Number: PS374.S46 A23 2008
ISBN: 9781592137220


Cover Art
Why Marriage? - George Chauncey
Call Number: HQ 76.8.U5 C43 2004
ISBN: 0465009573

Key Databases

Try these databases first for scholarly articles, primary sources, and more.

  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)  
      
    "The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present." Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A multidisciplinary database of full text non-current scholarly journals.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text  
      
    Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. Includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms
  • Women and Social Movements, Scholars Edition
    Includes collections of primary sources organized around women's and social movements. Includes (from the Daughters of Bilitis) The Ladder: A Lesbian Review, 1956-1972: An Interpretation and Document Archive.

Archival and Primary Resource Collections

Try these websites to locate primary sources. Keep mind: most archives cannot afford to digitize their collections, so some will have lists called finding aids that describe what is in their physical archive.

  • How to look for records of... Gay & Lesbian History (UK National Archives)
    A guide to searching the National Archives catalogue (some things are online), and also an excellent guide to searching for gay & lesbian primary sources in general-- check out the search terms and helpful records.
  • ACTUP Oral History Project
    A full-text collection of over 100 interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power- New York.
  • Digital Transgender Archive
    The DTA searches primary sources in archives, digital collections, and digital projects from around the world in a single search engine. Check out LEARN > GLOBAL TERMS or GLOSSARY for search terms.
  • FBI Vault Files: The Mattachine Society
    Begun in 1950, the Mattachine Society was an early homosexual rights advocacy organization. It became the subject of an FBI internal security investigation ...
  • Gayback Machine
    Digital collection of historical radio broadcasts from GLBT Radio on KSAN-FM San Francisco and Gay Radio from KPFA Berkeley
  • GLBTQ Archives (Central Connecticut State University)
    Digitized collection of GLBTQ history from Connecticut and national campaigns/organizations.
  • Lesbian Herstory Archives: Digital Collections
    A sampling of the Lesbian Herstory Archives that have been digitized (the archives are in Brooklyn). The Lesbian Herstory Archives has the world's largest collection of materials by and about Lesbians.
  • LGBT Religious Archives Network: Oral History Collection
    This Oral History collection provides in-depth interviews with a diverse group of early LGBT religious leaders. By selecting a person you can listen to that interview, read the transcript, view photographs and peruse biographical notes.
  • LGBTData (Drexel University)
    A free, open-access collection of data on LGBTQ topics and populations, including HIV/AIDS, domestic partner/sexual violence, mental health, and behavioral risk factor surveys.
  • ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
    Sampling of images held at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries that has been digitized for online display for purposes of education and personal research.
  • OutHistory.org
    Includes primary source material, and secondary sources articles and analyses of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and heterosexual U.S. history.
  • Queer Zine Archive
    The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a “living history” archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create.
  • Rainbow History Project
    Archives and oral history project for LGBTQ communities in Washington, DC. Many of their materials have been digitized and are available here.
  • Special Collections Resource Center at Morris Library
    Search the finding aids for the archives here at Morris Library. Saluki Rainbow Network was an early GLBT student organization at SIU Carbondale.
  • That's So Gay: Outing Early America (Library Company of Philadelphia
    A digital exhibit of primary sources that explore shifting depictions of queer identities in American History.
  • The History Project
    The History Project is an all-volunteer organization focused on several important initiatives: conducting research on lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgenders in Massachusetts , preserving the documentary record of that community's social and historical contributions, providing a forum for educating the general public.
 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

 

About Zotero

Photo by Karin DalzielWhat is Zotero?

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or OpenOffice. 

Since it's a Firefox plugin, it automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles..

Zotero Quick Start Guide

Check out the great guide published by the Zotero developers. Also available as a PDF for easy printing.

Not a FireFox User?

Try Zotero 3.0 for Mac, Window or Linux.

 

Zotero Tutorials

Zotero has produced several great how-to videos on their site that demonstrate step by step how to use Zotero's features.

This is a quick overview of how to save citations from the web.

More Zotero Screencast Tutorials

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip