Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
- GeoRef (Ovid)
American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register.
- SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)
First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
A database of full text non-current scholarly journals.
- Science Direct
The searchable index for all Elesevier Science publications. ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.
TOXNET is a group of databases about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, etc., from the US National Library of Medicine.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.