Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
Map Library staff have created a research guide with links to a variety of online map resources, including general geology and specific topics such as fracking. Check back regularly, as we are constantly adding new materials!
Primary reference source for geological articles, books, report, maps, and other sources worldwide.
A database for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many of the articles.
- Annual Reviews
Similar to Academic Search Premier above.
- Books in Print (Professional edition)
This source provides citations for books currently in print, including publisher and price information.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for all areas of engineering and provides access to journal articles and conference proceedings back to the late 1800s. Valuable for access to ENGINEERING GEOLOGY literature.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertations and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced at SIUC in recent years.
- Elsevier Science
This is the searchable link for all Elsevier publications.
- Environment Index
Use for ENVIRONMENTAL GEOLOGY and related topics. Environment Index provides index and abstract information for over 1000 titles. Includes a valuable thesaurus of environmental terms.
- GPO Catalog of U. S. Government Publications
This link provides a comprehensive access to U. S. Government publications, including titles by the U. S. Geological Survey and other agencies concerned with geology. Preferentially, use GeoRef.
JSTOR has complete online copies of older issues of many key journals across many subject areas. JSTOR does NOT include recent issues of journals.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts references worldwide literature for marine and brackish waters.
PapersFirst indexes conference papers published in many different subject areas.
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Each record contains a list of included papers.
- Science Direct
- SciFinder (web version)
This is a primary chemistry index provided by Chemical Abstracts Service and can be very helpful when seeking resources related to GEOCHEMISTRY.
- Water Resources Abstracts
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.