This is the "Home" page of the "Grants for Performing and Media Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grants for Performing and Media Arts   Tags: cinema, digital media, grants, radio, television  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/grantsformedia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Questions? Ask this Librarian

| Sarah H Prindle | Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian | 618.453.1249 | sprindle@lib.siu.edu | Morris Library 260C |

General Arts Funding

Grants for multiple media, or grant listings.

Documentary Filmmaking

Grants for non-fiction filmmaking.

  • Catapult Film Fund
    Catapult Film Fund provides development funding to documentary filmmakers who have a compelling story to tell, have secured access to their story and are ready to shoot and edit a piece for production fundraising purposes. Catapult has two funding cycles per year, Summer and Winter. At each round Catapult awards grants of up to $20,000 to seven projects.
  • Cinereach: Grant Priorities & Guidelines
    Cinereach supports feature-length nonfiction and fiction films that are at the intersection of engaging storytelling, visual artistry, and vital subject matter.
    Grant amounts can range from $5,000 – $50,000 per project and can be awarded to support any stage of production, including development, production and post-production. Within each cycle, between five and fifteen projects are typically selected to receive support.
  • Creative District
    An organization devoted to funding $5,000 film projects, with rolling applications and vague guidelines.
  • Docs in Progress: Funding for Documentary Filmmakers
    List of funding sources and organizations for documentary filmmaking, both national and geographically restricted funding sources.
  • Ford Foundation: JustFilms
    JustFilms provides ongoing open applications for individual grants seekers in the process of making social justice oriented documentary feature films. These grants are for mid-production film (a trailer is required for application).
  • Independent Filmmaker Labs
    Year-long mentorship program focusing exclusively on low-budget features (<$1million). Open to all first time feature documentary and narrative directors with films in post-production. Documentary and Narrative tracks.
  • NEH Media Projects: Production Grants
    NEH encourages projects that feature multiple formats to engage the public in the exploration of humanities ideas. Proposed projects might include complementary components that expand or deepen the audience’s understanding of a subject: for example, museum exhibitions, book/film discussion programs, or other formats that engage audiences in new ways. Interactive digital media, film and television projects; and radio projects. n the last five competitions the Media Projects: Production Grants program (formerly known as America's Media Makers: Production Grants) received an average of 39 applications. The program made an average of six awards per competition, for a funding ratio of 15 percent.
  • Pare Lorentz Documentary Fund
    Each year, $95,000 worth of grants are doled out to documentaries about pressing issues in the United States: use of the natural environment, justice for all or the illumination of pressing social problems.
  • Sundance Institute: Documentary Fund
    Sundance Institute's Documentary Fund supports contemporary independent documentary films. Submission deadlines in February and July each year. The Fund reviews 1,700-2,000 proposals annually, and grants about 45-55 projects. Three categories: Development (up to $20,000), Production/Post-Production (up to $50,000), Audience Engagement (up to $20,000).
  • Tribeca Film Fund: TFI Documentary Fund
    Grants and guidance to support exceptional character-driven, non-fiction works-in-progress that sit outside of the social issue landscape. For films, based anywhere, that are in advanced stages of development or in production or post-production. Grants of at least $10,000.
  • Tribeca Film Institute: Gucci Tribeca Documentary Fund
    Provides finishing funds to feature-length documentaries which highlight and humanize issues of social importance from around the world. For films, based anywhere, that are in production or post-production with the intended premiere exhibition. Grants range from $10,000 to $25,000.
  • Tribeca Film Institute: Tribeca All Access
    TAA supports working filmmakers, based in U.S. and Puerto Rico, who come from communities statistically underrepresented in the film industry. For films that are in all stages of production or post. Grants of $15,000, plus eligibility for a $10,000 Creative Promise Award.

Narrative Filmmaking

Narrative, fiction, and/or feature filmmaking grants and fellowships.

  • Creative District
    An organization devoted to funding $5,000 film projects, with rolling applications and vague guidelines.
  • Film Independent’s Fast Track Fellowship
    This three-day program is open to established and up-and-coming filmmakers looking for financing for their films. "During three days of intensive meetings, Fast Track connects filmmakers with financiers, production companies, and other industry professionals.Participants accepted into Fast Track are also eligible for a $15,000 production grant awarded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and a $10,000 Millenium Entertainment Fellowship."
  • Independent Filmmaker Labs
    Year-long mentorship program focusing exclusively on low-budget features (<$1million). Open to all first time feature documentary and narrative directors with films in post-production. Documentary and Narrative tracks.
  • NEH Media Projects: Production Grants
    NEH encourages projects that feature multiple formats to engage the public in the exploration of humanities ideas. Proposed projects might include complementary components that expand or deepen the audience’s understanding of a subject: for example, museum exhibitions, book/film discussion programs, or other formats that engage audiences in new ways. Interactive digital media, film and television projects; and radio projects. n the last five competitions the Media Projects: Production Grants program (formerly known as America's Media Makers: Production Grants) received an average of 39 applications. The program made an average of six awards per competition, for a funding ratio of 15 percent.
  • Nextpix/Firstpix Crowdfunding Grant
    An interesting take on granting, Nextpix/Firstpix will fund films with a budget under $250k that are the first or second film by a director and are crowdfunding part of that budget.
  • Panavision’s New Filmmaker Program
    If you are a student or a low-budget indie, Panavision might supply you with free camera packages. "The New Filmmaker Program loans film or digital camera packages (based on availability) to filmmakers for student thesis films, “low-budget” independent features, showcase reels, Public Service Announcements, or any other type of short not-for-profit project." Rolling deadlines.
  • Sundance Institute: Feature Film Program Fund
    Fellowships and direct artist granting including: Sundance Institute Indian Paintbrush Fellowship, Alfred P. Sloan Commissioning Grant and Fellowship, Time Warner Fellowship Program, Sundance Institute/A3 Foundation Feature Film Fellowship, Adrienne Shelly Women Filmmakers Grant, and more.
  • The David Ross Fetzer Foundation for Emerging Artists
    "The film award consists of a grant of $5,000 to a U.S. filmmaker 35 or under at the time of application for the production of a short film that will be shown as a private screening with the filmmaker in attendance at the annual foundation event at the Tower Theatre in Salt Lake City in December the year the grant is awarded."
  • The Roy Dean Grant/From the Heart Productions
    The Roy Dean Grant includes over $30k of in-kind services and products is open for shorts, docs, and features films with a budget under $500,000. "We fund compelling stories about little known subjects, historical films, and films that touch hearts. We like films that expose, and bring, important information to light; as well as films about little known people when there is a good story."
  • Tribeca Film Institute: Sloan Filmmaker Fund
    Provides grants and professional guidance in support of innovative and compelling narrative features that offer a fresh take on scientific, mathematic and technological themes. Project Status: For films in any stage, based anywhere. Grants range from $10,000-$75,000.
  • Tribeca Film Institute: Tribeca All Access
    TAA supports working filmmakers, based in U.S. and Puerto Rico, who come from communities statistically underrepresented in the film industry. For films that are in all stages of production or post. Grants of $15,000, plus eligibility for a $10,000 Creative Promise Award.
  • Women In Film/Netflix Finishing Fund
    The ladies film industry organization gives out sizeable finishing funds to films by women filmmakers, with a preference on plots about women. The Film Finishing Fund provides cash grants and in-kind production services to complete films that fit the established criteria of being by, for or about women. The works-in-progress are viewed by a special jury of WIF professionals that selects the winning submissions.

Audio/Sound Recording

Sound/audio recording, archiving, and research.

  • Association for Recorded Sound Collections: Grant Programs
    Includes Research Grants and Preservation Grants for the study and conservation of historical sound recordings.
  • Experimental Sound Studio: Artist Development
    ESS is a non-profit, artist-run organization focused on sound experimentation. Their website lists opportunities including workshops, residencies, and fiscal sponsorship of artists and groups.
  • Foundation for Bluegrass Music Doug Dillard and Doc Watson Project Grant
    A fund of $10,000 has been earmarked to support public projects in memory of Doug Dillard and Arthel “Doc” Watson. Of special interest are bluegrass music-related projects and programs that involve education or youth. This is a competitive application process and candidates must meet the Foundation’s Grant Application Guidelines.
    Application Deadline. The application deadline for the 2015 Grant Cycle is August 1, 2014.
  • Harvestworks Residency Programs
    Harvestworks provides residencies and support for projects that focus on technology and art, including access to recording studios.
  • International Association for Sound and Audiovisual Archives
    Listing of grants for sound archives and research on sound & audiovisual recording.
  • NEH Media Projects: Production Grants
    NEH encourages projects that feature multiple formats to engage the public in the exploration of humanities ideas. Proposed projects might include complementary components that expand or deepen the audience’s understanding of a subject: for example, museum exhibitions, book/film discussion programs, or other formats that engage audiences in new ways. Interactive digital media, film and television projects; and radio projects. n the last five competitions the Media Projects: Production Grants program (formerly known as America's Media Makers: Production Grants) received an average of 39 applications. The program made an average of six awards per competition, for a funding ratio of 15 percent.
  • NEH: Sustaining Cultural Heritage Collections Grant
    Helps cultural institutions meet the complex challenge of preserving large and diverse holdings of humanities materials for future generations by supporting preventive conservation measures that mitigate deterioration and prolong the useful life of collections.
  • The Recording Academy GRAMMY Foundation Grants
    Grants to organizations and individuals to support efforts that advance the archiving and preservation of the music and recorded sound heritage. Scientific Research Projects ($20,000 max), or Archiving and Preservation Projects ($5,000-$20,000).

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip