This is the "New Library Databases" page of the "History Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Research Guide   Tags: hist, history, history education, history study  

A guide to research in History.
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

New Library Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ask-A-Librarian

  • Ask-A-Librarian
    Instant Message a librarian most hours that the library is open or email a librarian. When the library is open, you can also call 618-453-2818 or stop by the information desk on the first floor.
 

How do you like it?

I feel Women and Social Movements is easy to use:






 

How do you like it?

I feel Black Thought and Culture is easy to use:






New Databases

  • Women and Social Movements, Scholars Edition
    "This is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Those subscribing to the Scholar's Edition can access the online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women."
  • Black Thought and Culture
    "It contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material. Black Thought and Culture uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database. They have recently upgraded the PhiloLogic software, enhancing performance and giving the collection a fresh new look. They have improved the search engine for better performance and introduced new toolbar navigation for easier browsing, but all other functionality of the collection remains the same."

Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Jian Anna Xiong
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2012 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip