Articles and Agricultural Extension Documents
There are many horticultural trade journals. Here are a few that we have access to online or in print at Morris Library.
Also see the general Horticulture Research Guide for more databases. See the lecture slides for information about how to search various databases for articles by the name of authors.
- Academic Search Premier (OneSearch, EBSCO)
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- Agricola (OneSearch, EBSCO)
AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles (including Acta Horticulturae) extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Knowledge)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
- Business Source Complete (OneSearch, EBSCO)
Contains indexing of landscape gardening and nursery trade magazines. This database is also useful for general searches about business management practices. Dates of coverage vary.
- CAB Abstracts (OneSearch, EBSCO)
CAB Abstracts contains citations to journal articles, monographs, books, conference proceedings, etc., in all agricultural fields as well as forestry and life sciences. It includes coverage from 1990 to present.
- Cooperative Extension Search
Provides access to many of the documents created by "75 land-grant universities in the United States (From the site)."
- Turfgrass Information File
The Turfgrass Information File contains citation to articles and educational materials. It is a service of the Turfgrass Information Center of Michigan State University Libraries. Dates of coverage vary.
Search All 50 EBSCO databases at once with this box
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology