This is a research guide for horticulture students, staff, and faculty.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014
AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles (including Acta Horticulturae) extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
CAB Abstracts contains citations to journal articles, monographs, books, conference proceedings, etc., in all agricultural fields as well as forestry and life sciences. It includes coverage from 1990 to present.
- Turfgrass Information File
The Turfgrass Information File contains citation to articles and educational materials. It is a service of the Turfgrass Information Center of Michigan State University Libraries. Dates of coverage vary.
- Business Source Complete
Contains indexing of landscape gardening and nursery trade magazines. This database is also useful for general searches about business management practices. Dates of coverage vary.
JSTOR contains full text articles from *older* horticulture, plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Acta Horticulturae
Full text series including the "the proceedings of ISHS [International Society for Horticultural Science] Symposia and the International Horticultural Congress (from the site)."
- Academic Search Complete
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
Search full text extension documents, agricultural experiment station documents, and other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information."
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Online Technical Library
Contains full text journal articles and technical documents published by the ASABE, including Transactions of the ASABE," Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, ASABE Standards, conference proceedings, and annual meeting papers.
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; and Genetics. Dates of coverage vary.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This database indexes landscape architecture as well as general architecture journals, and may be useful for garden and landscape design topics.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes
BioOne contains full text bioscience research journals.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Don't let the name fool you! Contains citations and some full text information about agronomy, soils, and other related topics.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
"A fulltext resource that includes 4,200 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. The appendix and glossary include biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data."
- Google Scholar
General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
- Plant Management Network
From the publisher:"Plant Management Network (PMN) is a not-for-profit, online publishing effort whose mission is to enhance the health, management, and production of agricultural and horticultural crops." It includes four peer-reviewed journals (Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazing Lands, & Plant Health Progress), and other resources, including "Plant Disease Management Reports," an image database, sections on specific crops, etc.
- PLANTS Database (National Resources Conservation Service, USDA)
Includes information about agricultural and horticultural plants. From the site: "The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
This medical database has information about medicinal plants.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, pesticides, and plants from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It includes links to the ALTBIB (animal testing alternatives) and Enviro-Health databases.
- Web of Science
This collection of databases includes Web of Science Core Collection which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Covers 1985-present. Note: Web of Science is also covered by the OneSearch database back to 1989.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology