A guide to research in Hospitality and Tourism Administration.
Use the Find Full Text links in the article citations to locate full text or use I-Share Classic to find our print journal subscriptions.
- Hospitality & Tourism Index with Full Text
"Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Coverage dates back to 1965. Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope." Uses the EBSCO interface.
- Business Source Complete
This database contains full-text articles in journals, magazines, and trade publications, and covers the hospitality and tourism industries. It contains ompany and industry information. Dates of coverage vary.
- LexisNexis Academic Search
This full-text database indexes over 6,000 sources including journals, magazines, and newspaper articles. Company information can be accessed via the "Business" tab. Customized company lists can also be created.
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
"NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more."
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database includes full-text articles in journals and magazines. Subjects include the arts, business, chemistry, computer science, languages, psychology, and much more.
Includes information about U.S. national parks and forests.
Multidisciplinary database with citations to articles.
- Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
- Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
- eHRAF World Cultures
"eHRAF World Cultures, formerly eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life."
- Environment Index
Includes links to ecotourism articles. From the site: "Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus. Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- Hispanic American Periodical Index - HAPI Online
"Hispanic American Periodical Index contains worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States."
This multidisciplinary database provides full-text access to over 1,000 scholarly journals. NOTE: The most current issues of journals (three to five years old) are generally not available. If desired, searching can be limited to only business journals.
- LGBT Life with Full Text
"LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens for full text monographs."
- Newspaper Source and Regional Business News
These two EBSCO databases provide mostly full-text access to over 370 regional newspapers and over 70 regional business publications.
Covers many subjects, including "Consumer Attitudes," "Leisure Time," "Lifestyle," "Tourism," "Traveling," and "Vacationing." A complete list of subjects is available (Thesaurus). This database indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences.
- PubAg (US Department of Agriculture)
From the site:"PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles."
- Reference USA
Basic information for companies is provided, including employee size, NAICS (or SIC) number, names of competitors, and sales data. Customized company lists can also be created.
- SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology from 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text for 547 books and monographs, 6,711 conference papers.
- The New Wine Lover's Companion
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Full text, searchable, business news.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology