Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that includes bibliographic and full text content in operations research and management.
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for all areas of engineering. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s.
- INSPEC (Institute of Electrical Engineers) - Web of Science
Inspec provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers science and control systems, information technology and materials science.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete can be used to find articles in all areas of engineering and technology. It is especially good for finding articles trade publications and popular science magazines.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
- Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards.
PapersFirst indexes papers published in conference proceedings in many different subject areas.
A major database for psychology, PsycINFO can be useful for finding articles and books on industrial and applied psychology.
ThomasNet is an online directory of parts and equipment suppliers. It includes industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.
- USPTO Patent Database
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States. You must have a TIFF image viewer plug-in installed in your Web browser to view and print full image pages.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.