This is the "Overview of Irish Literature and History Collections" page of the "Irish Literature and History Collections in SCRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Irish Literature and History Collections in SCRC   Tags: irish literature, manuscripts, rare books, scrc, special collections  

This guide provides information about the extensive holdings of manuscripts, books, and other material related to Irish literature and culture held in the Special Collections Research Center.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/irishcollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview of Irish Literature and History Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview of Irish Literature and History Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections, university records and VFMs (Vertical File Manuscripts) that are related to Irish literature and culture.  The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) of Southern Illinois University Carbondale houses a diverse body of Irish primary sources, from the personal papers of several notable Irish authors to an extensive collection of rare books and other printed material produced during the Irish Literary Renaissance.  The collections include an extensive collection of correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and ephemeral material as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.  For additional assistance, visit the SCRC website.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) and through SIUCat, Morris Library's online catalog.  I-Share contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in SCRC as well as books and other printed material available at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Finding aids for these sources are also available through SCRC's Web site in the finding aid database ARCHON.  

The SCRC's holdings of Irish Literature collections are listed alongside those of other institutions with strong Irish holdings in the Irish Literary Collections Portal, hosted by Emory University.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in SCRC.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact SCRC to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Irish Collections Quick Links

  • SIUC Archival Collections
    This page provides a list of the large archival collections related to Irish literature and history at SIUC.
  • Irish Literary Collections Portal
    This website lists Irish Literary Collections at SIUC and other major universities, such as Boston College and the University of Texas at Austin. It is hosted by Emory University.
  • SIUCat
    Searching SIUCat for the phrase "Irish Literature Collection" will return the SCRC's rare book holdings in Irish literature.
  • Contact the SCRC
    If you have a question about the Irish Collections, or any other materials in the SCRC, please contact us at any time.
  • Irish and Irish Immigration Studies Program at SIUC
    This page, developed by the SIU English department, contains a detailed description of Irish Studies holdings in SCRC and Morris Library.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip