Resources for creating lesson plans.
The Instructional Materials Center supports the mission of the Library and the University. The IMC is essential to the instructional and research needs of students and faculty in programs preparing teachers for PreK-12 schools. The IMC houses educational resources that provide curriculum and instructional experiences for PreK-12 students. These materials are used by educators to develop curricula and lesson plans and may also be used in actual instructional situations.
The IMC is located on the third floor of Morris Library.
The IMC Office is open Monday – Friday from 1-5pm. Assistance is available at the third floor Help Desk.
Lesson plans and supplemental teaching materials make up the IMC Resource Materials Collection. They may be checked out for 2 weeks. These files are located on the 3rd floor of Morris Library and may be retrieved upon request. For assistance, please contact the IMC Office staff at 618/453-2818 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Many lesson plans are in the general collections. They may be checked out for 4 weeks. To search for lesson plans in I-Share (library's online catalog), search by subject and include the phrase "lesson plans" in your search.
Thousands of lesson plans (1966-current) are indexed in ERIC, an education periodicals and documents index. Lesson plans are full-text from 1993-present. To use ERIC:
- Go to the Morris Library home page (www.lib.siu.edu) and click on "OneSearch."
- Choose "E" and then "ERIC (in OVID)."
- Example: search for social studies. Then click on the "Limit" graphic in the navigation bar. Under Publication Type, choose "Guides for Classroom Use, Teacher." Click on "Limit Search."
- For more help using ERIC, contact the Morris Library Information Desk, 618/453-2818.
- The Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
GEM is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Lesson plans are among 40,000+ educational resources that the web site brings together in a clearinghouse environment. Resources are "found on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites." Users can search the entire GEM catalog from any page on the site, or browse by several characteristics, including lesson plans only. Lesson plans are added after the organization or individual is accepted into the GEM Consortium.
- PBS TeacherSource
Browse this web site by subject and grade level (PreK-12), or search the database of 4,500+ lesson plans and activities. Lesson plans include objectives, curriculum standards covered, interdisciplinary teaching suggestions, links to supplemental web sites, links to related lesson plans on the PBS web site, film tie-ins (if applicable), ways to extend the lesson plan, assessment suggestions, and supplementary readings. Materials are "developed by trained and practicing educators with a variety of teaching backgrounds."
- The Awesome Library
This comprehensive resource organizes the Internet with 15,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top five percent in education. All grade levels and subjects are covered. Click on "Lessons" from the home page. Selection criteria is extensive and resources must be recommended by a teacher, librarian, student, or parent before posting.
- Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE)
The Illinois State Board of Education web site includes many resources for teachers, including a list of Illinois State Standards and 2,923 lesson plans on various topics supplied by the government. The website can be navigated either by subject browsing or by a direct search. This is a great website to visit if one is planning on teaching or be certificated in Illinois.
- Lesson Planz
Lesson Planz is a huge database of lesson plans designed by A to Z Teacher Stuff. Lesson plans are organized by grade and subject. To search the database you can do a direct search or browse by subject and then grade level.
- Education World
Education World has lesson plans submitted by teachers on a range of subjects. To search the database you can do a direct search or browse by subject. This company, Education World, also provides resources to teachers on topics like classroom management.
- The Lesson Plans Page
A collection of 2,500+ lesson plans for elementary grades submitted by students and faculty at the University of Missouri, and users of the web site. Lesson plans are browseable by broad subject area and grade level, in addition to searchable by keyword. Some teaching units and curriculum are included.
- Choices Book Reviews
The International Reading Association's web site contains both book reviews (1998-present) and links to lesson plans for children's literature. Book reviews come in the form of Children's Choices, Teachers' Choices, and Young Adults' Choices, which are chosen by thousands of children, teenagers, teachers, and librarians every year. See also: www.readwritethink.org (for lesson plans) and www.reading.org (IRA home page).
ReadWriteThink, established in April of 2002, is a partnership between the International Reading Association (IRA), the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), and the MarcoPolo Education Foundation. Its purpose is to provide free access to resources in reading and writing for grades preK-12.
- Education Index
Education Index is a service of Hobsons, an international college and career publisher. You can search by subject or lifestage of students. It covers information from prenatal to continuing education, including resources on lessons and different subjects. It provides information on all educational subjects, interactive games, links, and a chat room.
- Education Virtual Library
The Education Virtual Library is created by Charles Sturt University. Search by level of education, resources provided, type of site and country. It offers links to lesson plans and resources for preK-postgraduate.
Another way to find lesson plans on the Internet is to do a search in Google (or a search engine of your preference) for your topic. For example, search for +peter +sis +lesson +plan to find lesson plans for Peter Sis' books.