This is the "Overview of Special Collections" page of the "Southern Illinois History Collections in SCRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southern Illinois History Collections in SCRC   Tags: history, history study, manuscripts, rare books, scrc, southern illinois, special collections  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/localhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview of Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Southern Illinois History

One of the primary missions of the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) of Morris Library is to collect, preserve, and provide research access to materials that document the regional history of southern Illinois. SCRC's manuscript, archival and rare book collections reflect this commitment and include personal and family papers, small business and organization records, and the research and writings of local historians.

 

Overview of Southern Illinois History Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections and university records related to Southern Illinois history and culture, along with an extensive collection of rare books and other printed material produced by Illinois authors and publishers.  The collections include correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, organizational and business records, scrapbooks, research materials, photographs and films, and ephemera, as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.  For more, visit the SCRC website.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It provides a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available at SCRC and through I-Share, Morris Library's online catalog.  I-Share contains bibliographic records for most manuscript collections held in SCRC as well as books and other printed material available at SIUC. Finding aids for these sources are also available through SCRC's website in the finding aid database ARCHON.  

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in SCRC.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact SCRC to ensure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.


Quick Links

  • SIUC Archival Collections
    This page provides a list of the large archival collections related to southern Illinois history at SIUC.
  • SIUCat
    Searching SIUCat for the phrase "Illinois History Collection" will return the SCRC's rare book holdings in southern Illinois history.
  • Contact the SCRC
    If you have a question about the Southern Illinois History collections, or any other materials in SCRC, please contact us at any time.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip