Suggested databases to search for scholarly sources.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for film, television, mass media and cultural studies journals and books.
A multidisciplinary database of full text non-current scholarly journals
- Project Muse
Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
- Business Source Complete
Scholarly business database. Journals, financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- Google Scholar
Click here to connect to Morris Library's online resources via Google Scholar (login with Network ID/password).
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), The Chicago Defender (1905-1975), The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- Morris Library Databases A-Z
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A fairly comprehensive and authoritative index of peer-reviewed, open access journals.
- EDGAR | Company Filings (SEC)
Find SEC-mandated documents for public companies, including quarterly and annual reports.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Dissertations and theses will often need to request via Interlibrary Loan.
View all MCMA Theses, Dissertations, and Research Papers in OpenSIUC by clicking "Research unit, center, or department" and then "College of Mass Communications & Media Arts."
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Searchable metadata for dissertations and theses in open access repositories from more than 1000 schools.
- BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
The largest searchable database of open access web resources, including open access repositories and journals.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.