Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete can be used to find articles in all areas of engineering and technology. It is especially good for finding articles trade publications and popular science magazines.
- Web of Science
On Web of Science, Morris Library has Web of Science Core Collection, a multidisciplinary citation index, as well as Medline, Biological Abstracts, and Zoological Record. If you want to use just one of these databases, click on the "Select Database" tab. It also includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.
Full Text IEEE standards may be found in IEEE Xplore Digital Library. The database allows users to search IEEE standards or browse the standards by collection, number, topic, or ICS Code.
Print ASTM Standards: Call # TA 401 .A653
Morris Library's most recent copies ASTM standards are kept in the reference section on the first floor of the library. Older copies of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards can be found elsewhere in the library.
ASTM prints a complete set of the standards each year, but only a fraction of the standards are new.
- Business Source Complete
This database contains full-text articles in journals, magazines, and trade publications. Very useful for company and industry information.
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) - Legacy Interface
"NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more."
- Reference USA
Basic information for companies is provided, including employee size, NAICS (or SIC) number, names of competitors, and sales data. Customized company lists and consumer preference lists can also be created.
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
"Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available together with selected works published by affiliated organizations."
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
- Environment Index
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies."
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Online Technical Library
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers is a professional and technical organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems publishing over 1,500 information resources each year including technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, a membership magazine, textbooks, reference books, and standards.
ThomasNet is an online directory of parts and equipment suppliers. It includes industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below. Learn about using SciFinder here.
- GeoRef (Ovid)
American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
A searchable of scientific papers, in full-text from the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
- ProQuest Newsstream
The core of the database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- LexisNexis Academic Search - Legacy Interface (after 10/5/2017 see Nexis Uni)
Searchable database of full-text newspapers, broadcast transcripts, case law, and company information.
- USPTO Patent Database
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States.
- Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- NTIS - National Technical Information Service
Provides access to more than three million government funded technical, scientific, engineering, and business related resources
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
Contains full text of U.S. federal documents dated prior to 1975. Collections so far include Bureau of Mines, National Standards, and Atomic Energy Commission materials, with more to come.
Access to the U.S. government's open datasets.