- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for engineering, including electrical and computer engineering. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Completecan be used to find articles in all areas of engineering and technology. It is especially good for finding articles trade publications and popular science magazines.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
- Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that searches across disciplines for materials, including published articles, unpublished preprints, theses, books, preprints, and technical reports.
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards.
- INSPEC (Institute of Electrical Engineers) - Web of Science
Inspec provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers science, information technology and materials science.
- Math/Sci/Net (Mathematical Reviews on the Web)
Primarily a mathematics database, MathSciNet is useful for mathematical topics in mechanical engineering.
- Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biomedical engineering.
PapersFirst indexes papers published in conference proceedings in many different subject areas.
A free resource from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biomedical engineering.
- Science Direct
Searches journals and other publications from the publisher Elsevier. Includes full text of the articles if Morris Library subscribes to the journal through Elsevier, as indicated by the green box next to the title of the article. Includes abstracts for other articles (indicated by the white box).
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below.
- SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)
First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
Scitopia is a free resource that searches bibliographic records of articles published in the journals of fifteen different science and technology societies, including IEEE, ASME, APS, and AIP. It also searches U.S. and European patents.
ThomasNet is an online directory of parts and equipment suppliers. It includes industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.
- USPTO Patent Database
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States. You must have a TIFF image viewer plug-in installed in your Web browser to view and print full image pages.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
- Web of Science (Citation Indexes)
Multidisciplinary database that makes connections between publications, the works that they cite, and the works that cite them.