Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.
- GeoRef (Ovid)
American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
- INSPEC (Institute of Electrical Engineers) - Web of Science
A comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- Environment Index
Use this database to access literature on the environment as related to mining, etc. "Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. Over 500 titles have ongoing coverage. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research."
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.